Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2019, 12:53 PM
JoeLouis JoeLouis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 44
Default imac extra monitors compatibility

Hello, here's my question:
I want to know if I can link an extra wide monitor (34") to a 27" new imac (for working with Pro Tools)
Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2019, 04:49 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,683
Default Re: imac extra monitors compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeLouis View Post
Hello, here's my question:

I want to know if I can link an extra wide monitor (34") to a 27" new imac (for working with Pro Tools)

Thanks in advance.


Yes, if by new you mean current gen iMac. Pretty vague just saying new.

Just make sure you have the correct cable or adapters to work with the panel you buy.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2019, 06:45 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,448
Default Re: imac extra monitors compatibility

But the details matter...

Current 2019 iMacs have a single Thunderbolt 3 bus (with two connectors), if your monitor is not Thunderbolt 3 compatible you need a dongle/adapter like a Thunderbolt 3 to HDMI, or Thunderbolt 3 to mini-DisplayPort or DisplayPort. Or a Thunderbolt 3 dock that has a HDMI port, etc.

And then there is the question of what display resolution and refresh rates supported, the maximum external display resolution supported on Thunderbolt 3 is a nominal "5K", or dual "4K" monitors, I'm guessing your monitor is not above that.

None of this is really Pro Tools related, Your Apple Store or Apple support are likely best places to get further help if you are not sure about what adapter is needed, or what exact display resolutions and refresh rates will work with that adapter.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 09-23-2019 at 06:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2019, 11:21 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,683
Default Re: imac extra monitors compatibility

Details do matter.

Which is why I said ‘pretty vague just saying new’.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playback through Monitors instead of iMAC 3RingCircus Getting Started 4 09-13-2016 07:20 AM
New iMac compatibility w/PT 9? jazzhawk Pro Tools 9 3 05-24-2015 10:39 PM
new imac and compatibility djmichael.london 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-21-2010 01:52 AM
imac crashed when installing extra ram douzanis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-01-2007 10:13 AM
Extra Harddisk on my Intel iMac/Digi002R advise Jeroen Wolff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-16-2006 07:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com