Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2019, 09:38 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,039
Default PIA New Focusrite Pligin looks A+

Looks and sounds great !!!

https://www.plugin-alliance.com/en/p...usrite_sc.html

Gonna cost though ...
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-2019, 09:43 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: PIA New Focusrite Pligin looks A+

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Looks and sounds great !!!
Their DSM v2 plugin looks and sounds great too, but PA doesn't have any estimation when and if its severe automation bugs will be fixed (confirmed by them). This is the most expensive PA plugin so far if it matters.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-06-2019, 09:48 AM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,124
Default Re: PIA New Focusrite Pligin looks A+

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoorevich View Post
Their DSM v2 plugin looks and sounds great too, but PA doesn't have any estimation when and if its severe automation bugs will be fixed (confirmed by them). This is the most expensive PA plugin so far if it matters.
Michael,
I understand your frustrations but, The DSM is created by another company
from way back. The Focusrite is new and Dirk and Company have a strong
team led by ex Pro Tools Plug in Designer Martin Stahl who is brilliant!
I will not hesitate purchasing the Focusrite Plug in Bundle if it meets my needs.
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-06-2019, 10:57 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: PIA New Focusrite Pligin looks A+

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr sound View Post
Michael,
I understand your frustrations but, The DSM is created by another company
from way back. The Focusrite is new and Dirk and Company have a strong
team led by ex Pro Tools Plug in Designer Martin Stahl who is brilliant!
I will not hesitate purchasing the Focusrite Plug in Bundle if it meets my needs.
Does that mean that only brainworx branded and only recently designed plugins with Dirk name on it should be bought to avoid future issues? I own lots of their plugins and not really moaning about them not fixing bugs. At $25-29 price point we can expect a one time purchase without asking a rhetoric question whether they ever are going to fix any bugs. The answer will be - no. Buy another version for $25 and then - maybe.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-06-2019, 02:36 PM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,124
Default Re: PIA New Focusrite Pligin looks A+

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoorevich View Post
Does that mean that only brainworx branded and only recently designed plugins with Dirk name on it should be bought to avoid future issues? I own lots of their plugins and not really moaning about them not fixing bugs. At $25-29 price point we can expect a one time purchase without asking a rhetoric question whether they ever are going to fix any bugs. The answer will be - no. Buy another version for $25 and then - maybe.
No, Developed by Paul Frindle. He designed it. He is the one to update it.
Have you contacted him?
Do a Google search:
https://www.gearslutz.com/board/musi...sp-dsm-v2.html
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-06-2019, 04:03 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,673
Default PIA New Focusrite Pligin looks A+

Yes I would hound Paul. Ask him and PI to play nice together

Remember how long it took for Antares and UAD to get it together like 2 years to release the auto tune for UAD

Anyway more to the point.... God bless Dirk for his AAXDSP WORK !!!
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.

Last edited by YYR123; 07-06-2019 at 09:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-07-2019, 05:27 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,191
Default Re: PIA New Focusrite Pligin looks A+

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
God bless Dirk for his AAXDSP WORK !!!
!!!
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-07-2019, 05:50 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,741
Default Re: PIA New Focusrite Pligin looks A+

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Looks and sounds great !!!

https://www.plugin-alliance.com/en/p...usrite_sc.html

Gonna cost though ...
Price is something we don't know yet - same as with the Shadow Hills Mastering Compressor PA now has in native. Guessing PA will have a discount intro price and a much lower one for those who are 'heavy hitters' (they own 20 or more individual plugins from PA - I got like 30+). The two plugins might well drop the same day - 15th or 16th of this month.

And don't forget your loyalty vouchers are usable for these two.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-07-2019, 03:10 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,321
Default Re: PIA New Focusrite Pligin looks A+

I am almost sure this will be worth getting, in the last year the emulations, especially the analog saturation characteristics have become fearlessly realistic, older channel strips were really hard to get to the point of distortion, right now it all starts to sounds dirty as soon as the meters get near the red.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-07-2019, 04:19 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,039
Default Re: PIA New Focusrite Pligin looks A+

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
I am almost sure this will be worth getting, in the last year the emulations, especially the analog saturation characteristics have become fearlessly realistic, older channel strips were really hard to get to the point of distortion, right now it all starts to sounds dirty as soon as the meters get near the red.
Stopped buying Plugins and now we have a lot of new shiny hardware BUT this one will be the exception as you said, will be worth getting as it really does sound great in the videos. We do have a few Focusrite units but beeing able to use several of the same on many tracks at once and still sound Focusrite ISA is a no brainer for us atleast
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB:Focusrite D2/D3 SoundEng1 Buy & Sell 0 09-02-2013 06:45 PM
Focusrite D2/D3?? AAX Please! MARVINBASS AAX Plug-ins 4 01-25-2013 07:15 PM
Focusrite VRM box tbub Eleven Rack 0 07-22-2011 11:52 AM
Focusrite d2 EQ GeneOuse ICON & C|24 2 02-24-2006 07:16 PM
Focusrite 1.9 ? Fortran 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-10-2003 07:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com