Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-08-2018, 12:17 PM
richardblythe richardblythe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 low latency monitoring issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oufti View Post
Having the same issue here on PT2018/iMac 2012-HighSierra/Apollo 8p. The only turnaround I found is to open the Playback engine Dialog window, then click OK and everything is back to normal, as long as I record on the same track (the issue comes back when arming a new track for recording).
I too am having the same issue with LLM not working. It worked perfectly until upgrading to 2018.1.0. The doubling while recording is driving me crazy! Oufti, I'll try what you suggested and see if it works for me.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-08-2018, 12:38 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 545
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 low latency monitoring issues

I am getting some weirdness with A doubling type of sound with almost like a distorted filter of my main outputs on some sessions. Once I change the playback engine to another value, it fixes the issue. This started in version 2018.1

Anyone have those symptoms? This is after all standard troubleshooting like resetting prefs etc.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
10.14.5 Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools HD 2019.6

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-10-2018, 12:28 AM
michaelevancoe michaelevancoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 low latency monitoring issues

Hey all. Having same issues with LLM on PT 2018.1. Seems the method of opening playback engine temporarily fixes issue until a new track is record enabled.

Hopefully this gets fixed soon by Avid! 🙏
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-10-2018, 09:20 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,710
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 low latency monitoring issues

i tested this earlier in this thread - post #6 ... can someone take a look and let me know if i missed something while trying to repro this please ????
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-10-2018, 02:44 PM
michaelevancoe michaelevancoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 low latency monitoring issues

@john1192 the error only happens while in QuickPunch for me


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-22-2018, 07:41 AM
Oufti Oufti is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 15
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 low latency monitoring issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZEUSS View Post
This is after all standard troubleshooting like resetting prefs etc.
I tried that but it got worse: with new prefs I have the double signal permanently...
Hopefully I was able to restore the previous prefs (didn't empty the trash) and got back to the previous case
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-26-2018, 02:07 AM
iamlark iamlark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 low latency monitoring issues

I'm using an Apollo Twin (monitoring routed through apollo console) and ran into this issue and eventually tracked down something here -


Seems the problem appears for me when I change the AFL/PFL audition path to anything other than the default MON L/R. If it's set to any of the virtual channels, LLM stops working correctly, but will be happy again if I set AFL back to MON. Doesn't seem to matter for me what any other the other paths are set to in the I/O, just the AFL.

Edit - I should add that I was not using AFL mode at the time. I was set to SIP mode, but only changed the output audition routing.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-27-2018, 06:24 AM
michaelevancoe michaelevancoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 low latency monitoring issues

Ok, still been working on this.

To get any sort of function whatsoever from LLM, you must have "Mute Record-Armed Tracks while Stopped" checked. Then, open playback engine, close playback engine. LLM works correctly until you disarm that track. It won't work correctly until you do the playback engine trick again.

With "Mute Record-Armed Tracks while Stopped" unchecked, LLM has no effect whatsoever. Sends are marked as bypass but the audio still flows, in stop or play (record enabled). Playback engine trick doesn't fix in this case.

I tried out changing the AFL/PFL and audition paths in I/O, seems to have no effect.


Gear I'm using:
MBPro 2017
Antelope Orion Studio Rev. 2017
Protools 2018.1

Avid support contacted me back... apparently they tested this with some Avid gear and couldn't reproduce the issue... kinda seems like they didn't really try to test thoroughly .

This is SO frustrating. Have also tried on different systems, even tried PT12. nothing different
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-27-2018, 07:45 AM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,055
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 low latency monitoring issues

It's working fine on my system. Has been since day one.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate & Vanilla 2019.10 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.6 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-27-2018, 07:47 AM
michaelevancoe michaelevancoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 low latency monitoring issues

I highly doubt this is a hardware issue... just seems to be a bug in the PT software...

However the fact that installing PT12 didn’t fix it has me wondering...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
low latency monitoring in Pro Tools 11 - IS THERE AN ANSWER ....? Zee&Eli Pro Tools 11 22 03-10-2017 08:23 AM
Low Latency Monitoring in Standard Pro Tools 9? Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 9 20 02-06-2012 09:55 PM
Pro Tools 9.0.5 - Low Latency Monitoring problem still persists xazqe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-02-2011 09:54 AM
Monitoring Latency issues 001 and Pro-Tools 6.4 LE eastwood1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 08-30-2006 02:04 AM
Pro Tools Free OS 9 monitoring latency - help!! sunlikeblood Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 12-29-2003 05:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com