Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-01-2016, 09:46 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,807
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by dieffe View Post
If I understand correctly what you're trying to do, try this:
- select the Object Grabber tool
- select all the regions in the first track, Control drag to move to the comp track.
- select all the regions in the second track, Control drag to move to the comp track.
- repeat until you moved all the regions
I thought of this. One thing to be careful of: if clips on the second track overlap the clips on the comp track, you will overwrite them and the first set of clips will disappear.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-01-2016, 09:52 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Not with the Object Grabber.

If you simply select all clips and did a paste it would overwrite.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-01-2016, 09:56 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,807
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
Not with the Object Grabber.

If you simply select all clips and did a paste it would overwrite.
AH. right. I so rarely use it. My bad.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-01-2016, 11:04 AM
simonyeah simonyeah is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 94
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

My goal was to do it once for all the tracks (I already use the grabber tool for this). I was quite sure it was not possible. This confirms it. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-01-2016, 03:07 PM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Let's say, the clips are spread across on 5 tracks.
Create a comp track. On this comp track, loop record 6 times a one-second-selection (at a place in the timeline, where it does not hurt (shortly after end of session, ...)), with automatically create a playlist when loop recording enabled.
(My way to create playlists ...)
Basic goal : create 5 additional playlists , displayed on the comp track.
Comp track : track view to playlist. (See the main playlist and the additional 5 new ones.)
Object select all clips on the 5 original tracks (the ones to be placed on the comp track). (Select first clip , shift-click all others.)
Ctrl/Start-drag the clips to the 5 new additional playlists on the comp track.
On one of the additional playlists : hit the arrow up to commit the clip to the main playlist. It will do this for all clips on the 5 new additional playlists. They all appear at once on the main playlist.
Remove the clips on the 5 additional playlists (they are already on the main playlist).
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-01-2016, 03:09 PM
gwhatley's Avatar
gwhatley gwhatley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Playa Vista, CA
Posts: 111
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Good one.
__________________
Garrard Whatley
Seismic Post Audio
Post Audio for Film and Television
System/Hardware Info
IMDb credits
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-01-2016, 03:21 PM
dieffe dieffe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 85
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Nice trick Joachim!

But again how much faster is then select the whole track with the object grabber tool, drag to the comp track and then repeat for the following tracks? I mean, unless we're talking about a hundred tracks it can take 10 minutes to move everything to one track.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-01-2016, 03:42 PM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by dieffe View Post
Nice trick Joachim!
Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dieffe View Post
But again how much faster is then select the whole track with the object grabber tool,...
That would be my way also, for keeping the overview of what I am doing.
But with the mentioned method, you could object-select on 5 tracks ot once, hence a reduction of 80% of start-dragging moves.
And, if not all clips on one track are wanted, e.g. on one track is a wanted clip followed by 2 unwanted clips, followed by a wanted clip, followed by 3 unwanted clips, and so on ... , and the same is valid for the other 4 tracks, it is a good way to shift-object-select on 5 tracks in one pass.



(Actually, this was just PT-sudoku.)
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-01-2016, 04:20 PM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 669
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Another possibility. The tracks which have the clips in question that you want to comp could be routed to one new track. Then offline bounce to that track. Select the new track and the originals and tab to region boundary adding the edits as required to match your original regions. I know this duplicates media but it's quick and if you have a lot of regions certainly quicker than dragging.
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-04-2016, 02:28 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,199
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by simonyeah View Post

My goal was to do it once for all the tracks (I already use the grabber tool for this). I was quite sure it was not possible. This confirms it. Thanks

You mean you're trying to select clips on, say, 5 tracks, and drag it to 1 track, in a single move?

I think the only way that would work, is if the clips were on 5 mono tracks, and you dragged them on to a polyphonic (surround) track.


If I was correct in my interpretation, and you're hoping to merge clips from multiple stereo tracks, on to a single stereo track, in one drag & drop move, you're out of luck.


A feature that Pro Tools could really use, is an addition to the Quantise options, whereby you could quantise a selection of clips according to their individual Original / User Timestamp.


If you could batch-timestamp a selection of clips on the timeline, then drag all of those clips from the clip list on to a single track, and then quantise the whole lot to their user timestamp, that would be a really handy workflow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't 'Drag across multiple tracks' mrhappy1997 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-11-2015 05:49 PM
Consolidating Clips/tracks Tampaguitar Pro Tools 11 9 12-20-2013 12:33 PM
HELP! - Can't drag tracks to pro tools Tha Yungsta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-07-2008 12:31 AM
Drag Copy CD Tracks seems broke Mark Wheaton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-31-2006 02:23 PM
Removal of Clips & Pops on Tracks? pribb1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-29-2004 03:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com