Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-29-2016, 03:36 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,807
Default Re: Is Virtual Katy gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
Poppycock!!

Ive used Conformalizer with 44:30 length shows since 2009.
I might have had an issue with it (DF) back then, Justin released a fix within hours.
But has been fine since.
Oh and 23.98 has to be treated as 24 in the software.
Weird. I tried it on 4 different episodes (3 different editors I gave instructions to) and even recommended it to the local PBS who tried it on 2 episodes (with a 4th editor) and it gave bizarre reconforms every time.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-01-2016, 10:44 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,241
Default Re: Is Virtual Katy gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by minister View Post
Weird. I tried it on 4 different episodes (3 different editors I gave instructions to) and even recommended it to the local PBS who tried it on 2 episodes (with a 4th editor) and it gave bizarre reconforms every time.

This has been occurring with shows that have to be timed, and delivered 29.97DF, but the edited footage is 23.98.

EDLs can't seem be properly generated.
Also AEs with EDL knowledge to help resolve this are very rare.

I havent solved this issue.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-01-2016, 01:26 PM
The Cargo Cult's Avatar
The Cargo Cult The Cargo Cult is offline
The Cargo Cult
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 296
Default Re: Is Virtual Katy gone?

I see.
Send me some example EDLs and I'll see if there's a way for Conformalizer to handle them correctly.

Better yet, if there is an Assistant Editor who can explain the workaround we can add that to the "letter to the editor".

So DF is still common in the US broadcast world?
Justin
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-03-2016, 06:06 AM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: Is Virtual Katy gone?

Quote:
So DF is still common in the US broadcast world?
Very common. 59.94i video with DF code required by several networks.

Seems to me that most shoot at 23.976. A large client maintains a dual frame rate approach. Offline editing entirely at 23.976. I get aaf''s at 23.976 with video exported as 29.97. Online and color correct then happens at 59.94. Frankly, the only reason I haven't used Conformalizer on their shows is because they refuse to generate EDLs! It is very frustrating and wasteful to conform by hand. Their handwritten change lists are always wrong, too. Always.
__________________
system specs in profile
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-03-2016, 01:46 PM
The Cargo Cult's Avatar
The Cargo Cult The Cargo Cult is offline
The Cargo Cult
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 296
Default Re: Is Virtual Katy gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Postman View Post
...they refuse to generate EDLs!
Hmm...
It shouldn't at all difficult to generate an EDL - not compared to a change note.

If you can get a response out of those people I'd love to know if there's a particular issue. If there is, the solution could be as simple as Conformalizer supporting a slightly different combination of frame rates.. or something...

Please send thru any examples or responses form your picture people.

Cheers
Justin
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-04-2016, 04:48 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 180
Default Re: Is Virtual Katy gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by minister View Post
Weird. I tried it on 4 different episodes (3 different editors I gave instructions to) and even recommended it to the local PBS who tried it on 2 episodes (with a 4th editor) and it gave bizarre reconforms every time.
This could be due to the speed setting. I've had Conformalizer mess up the recut a few times when set to normal speed. It doesn't show any notification, only while reconforming it briefly shows some red text in the progress bar, but you only find out what happened after checking the entire recut.
Setting the speed to 'careful' (or something similar) solved it every time.


@Justin
It would be nice to see some notification after conforming saying PT probably couldn't keep up at XX timecode. This way I don't have to stare at my screen for 20 mins during conforming. Or even better, abort the operation.
(This was about 9 months ago on a trial, haven't needed the software since so this could be different now.)

@OP
Virtual Katy still only supports the outdated CMX3600 edl's, limited to 999 cuts. Making it pretty much useless for lengthy projects (unless using a workaround you have to explain to the editor). Updates are scarce (it takes a long time for them to support newer protools versions) and the price is fairly high. I'd say apart from the speed issue Conformalizer is better in every way.

Last edited by Farhoof; 03-05-2016 at 12:46 AM. Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-04-2016, 04:45 PM
Sonny Keyes Sonny Keyes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 334
Default Re: Is Virtual Katy gone?

Thanks Farhoof, that's about what I've figured now. Pitched my boss on Conformalizer and I expect he'll be making a group purchase for the whole company shortly.
__________________
Sonny Keyes
Toronto
http://www.sonnykeyes.ca

Rig 1: 2.8GHz Macbook Pro PT 12.7.1 Logic 10.3.2 Scarlett 18i20
Rig 2: 2.66 QuadCore Intel Xeon Logic 10.2.0 Scarlett 18i20 PTHD10.3.10
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-04-2016, 06:01 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,807
Default Re: Is Virtual Katy gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farhoof View Post
This could be due to the speed setting.
It's not. Did it at all settings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonny Keyes View Post
Thanks Farhoof, that's about what I've figured now. Pitched my boss on Conformalizer and I expect he'll be making a group purchase for the whole company shortly.
Sorry to have derailed the thread. Conformalizer is great and easy. Good choice!
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-04-2016, 06:31 PM
Sonny Keyes Sonny Keyes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 334
Default Re: Is Virtual Katy gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by minister View Post
Sorry to have derailed the thread
Nonsense. I love it when a conversation arises in which (a) there is discussion of real-world benefits and issues about a particular piece of software and (b) the developer of that software product chimes in and tries to solve the issues.
__________________
Sonny Keyes
Toronto
http://www.sonnykeyes.ca

Rig 1: 2.8GHz Macbook Pro PT 12.7.1 Logic 10.3.2 Scarlett 18i20
Rig 2: 2.66 QuadCore Intel Xeon Logic 10.2.0 Scarlett 18i20 PTHD10.3.10
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-06-2016, 02:32 PM
The Cargo Cult's Avatar
The Cargo Cult The Cargo Cult is offline
The Cargo Cult
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 296
Default Re: Is Virtual Katy gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farhoof View Post
It would be nice to see some notification after conforming saying PT probably couldn't keep up at XX timecode.
Yeah, that would be great, but unfortunately there are only very crude methods available to test if something has gone wrong.

The current version checks the copied and pasted durations to make sure they are the same, and if not it will repeat the event (while displaying the red text you mentioned). If you see that happening a lot, you should slow down the conform speed.

At the moment this is about the best we can do since AVID can't/won't give us any hooks into Pro Tools. Feel free to complain to your favourite AVID representative.

Justin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 and Virtual Katy? bdangler Post - Surround - Video 1 01-05-2012 11:58 AM
Help with Virtual Katy Eric Seaberg Post - Surround - Video 4 12-05-2010 01:14 PM
How much is Virtual Katy? Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 7 05-17-2010 05:02 AM
Virtual Katy barismanco123 Post - Surround - Video 11 12-19-2009 04:23 PM
| VIRTUAL KATY | multipro Post - Surround - Video 1 09-17-2004 08:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com