Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2015, 10:07 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,710
Default New Weirdness .. Pro Tools Quit Grayed Out ..

New Weirdness .. Pro Tools Quit Grayed Out ..

i am growing very tired of all this weirdness with pro tools 12.2 ..

just opened a session to bounce a quick mix for a singer and now pro tools will not close unless i force quit .. OR had to close the session then PT would close ..

i want my version of PT11 back in my account so i can WORK PLEASE until 12 is ready for prime time

.. 12 is NOT just 11.4 it is a mess ...

john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2015, 10:45 AM
Rubicon's Avatar
Rubicon Rubicon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 520
Default Re: New Weirdness .. Pro Tools Quit Grayed Out ..

+1. I have experienced this as well in 12.2.... I also loose the ability to switch mix and edit (command=) from time to time. A restart fixes this, but I won't add to any hate on this thread.
__________________
Wikipedia
IMDB
ITunes

ML 10.8.2, PT 10.3.1 HD Accel 3, Mac Harpertown 32gb Apple RAM, 4 1T Apple Drives, Waves Mercury. Lots of unstable VI's.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2015, 10:57 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,710
Default Re: New Weirdness .. Pro Tools Quit Grayed Out ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubicon View Post
+1. I have experienced this as well in 12.2.... I also loose the ability to switch mix and edit (command=) from time to time. A restart fixes this, but I won't add to any hate on this thread.

Add away, i am angry that i cannot finish a project after upgrading ... been on hold with Avid for 1/2 hour after 3 times being hung up on or getting into a phone loop i could not get out of .. not even sure what dept i am waiting for now ..

i just want my PT11 back in my account so i can work .. i agreed to give up PT11 for 12 with the understanding that it would be the same except for the version name change ..

so i am now waiting for a call back from Avid .. no idea when .. but finally after an hour spoke to a nice woman at Avid Media Composer Support .. have no idea how i got there .. the phone system has always been a pita and so has the website since avid took over ..

i am hoping this will get me some help ..

cheers john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2015, 11:04 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,321
Default Re: New Weirdness .. Pro Tools Quit Grayed Out ..

Try lowering the color depth to 16 bit
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2015, 11:05 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,710
Default Re: New Weirdness .. Pro Tools Quit Grayed Out ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Try lowering the color depth to 16 bit
hi, not an option here on my Mac .. used to have that option .. may i ask why you think this would help my situation ???

thank you john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2015, 11:06 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,321
Default Re: New Weirdness .. Pro Tools Quit Grayed Out ..

Because it worked for me, but I'm in a PC. Lowering color depth usually solves graphic issues for me.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2015, 11:07 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,710
Default Re: New Weirdness .. Pro Tools Quit Grayed Out ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Because it worked for me, but I'm in a PC
.. copy that .. just curious ..
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2015, 02:22 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,741
Default Re: New Weirdness .. Pro Tools Quit Grayed Out ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
New Weirdness .. Pro Tools Quit Grayed Out ..

i am growing very tired of all this weirdness with pro tools 12.2 ..

just opened a session to bounce a quick mix for a singer and now pro tools will not close unless i force quit .. OR had to close the session then PT would close ..

i want my version of PT11 back in my account so i can WORK PLEASE until 12 is ready for prime time

.. 12 is NOT just 11.4 it is a mess ...

john
Have you tried PT12 on your Yosemite partition? If I were you I'd switch PT10 to the Mavericks partition and PT12 to Yosemite. PT10 works fine in Mavericks here.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-28-2015, 02:24 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,710
Default Re: New Weirdness .. Pro Tools Quit Grayed Out ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Have you tried PT12 on your Yosemite partition? If I were you I'd switch PT10 to the Mavericks partition and PT12 to Yosemite. PT10 works fine in Mavericks here.
the Yosemite Partition was a mistake - i also have an entire drive just for PT10 when i need it o 10.8.5 .. sorry i need to update my sig

and i do not like how my rig runs on Yosemite .. mavericks should not be the issue .. i had a call with avid tech this morning - they are looking at a couple different issues i have ..
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-28-2015, 02:27 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,741
Default Re: New Weirdness .. Pro Tools Quit Grayed Out ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
the Yosemite Partition was a mistake - i also have an entire drive just for PT10 when i need it o 10.8.5 .. sorry i need to update my sig

and i do not like how my rig runs on Yosemite .. mavericks should not be the issue .. i had a call with avid tech this morning - they are looking at a couple different issues i have ..
Okay. I had Yosemite on my system as a third partition and it was nothing but a stability nightmare. Back to ML and Mavericks.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools refuses to quit. Have to force quit. SD2 Pro Tools 10 13 01-23-2014 09:21 AM
PT10 won't quit and playback engine panel weirdness SteveBoker macOS 0 10-22-2011 10:02 PM
PT 8.0.3: Unable to click anything & 'Quit' is grayed out xcevinx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 10-15-2010 04:54 PM
Mbox 2 Micro “Preferences” and “Quit Pro Tools LE” are Grayed out mouse can't select keithmac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 08-17-2010 02:50 PM
ReWire causes PT Quit weirdness Ray Lyon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-21-2006 07:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com