Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2015, 12:37 PM
blastula blastula is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 213
Default Which mac for Elastic Audio/X-Form

I'm using an early 2009 Quad Core 2.66Ghz Power Mac (16G Ram)
I use Elastic Audio (and the X-Form algorithm) a lot.
As some of you know, it's excruciatingly slow (especially at 96k!)....
Wondering if upgrading Macs would make a big difference for Elastic Audio/X-Form ....and if so, which Mac?

Thanks,
Rob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2015, 07:44 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Post Re: Which mac for Elastic Audio/X-Form

The amount of RAM you have will not impact Elastic Audio in Pro Tools v10.x and earlier.

Why are you using a tower? Do you have PCIe cards that you need to keep using? I suspect that faster cores will provide the greater benefit than the number of cores. The only way to know would be to do some testing against a baseline.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2015, 11:00 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,200
Default Re: Which mac for Elastic Audio/X-Form

Which hard drives are you using? I bet EA is using a lot of disk i/o and if you use faster/more drives you will see better performance.

That 2009 Mac Pro is plenty fast for heavy EA and 16GB memory should also be enough.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2015, 12:57 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Which mac for Elastic Audio/X-Form

Are you running 10 or 11? Plugin processing is a LOT slower in 10
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2015, 04:12 PM
blastula blastula is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: Which mac for Elastic Audio/X-Form

Still at pt9 (hd2)
with a uad-2 card (pci-e)
12 GB Ram
My drives are Hitachi and WD 7200 SATA


My sessions arent huge, but i use a lot of plugins at 96k and i use elastic audio a lot
willing to move up to 11, to hdx...
as i am under the impression that it will be a much smoother faster experience...(?)
just wondering if it's gonna help out with elastic audio/x-form.
And wondering if a top speed imac is better for that than a mac pro.
Or if there's much benefit to a 12-core over a 6 core (of equal speed).

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2015, 04:19 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Which mac for Elastic Audio/X-Form

Big benefit to going to 11, 64bit and as many processors as possible. Hdx isn't involved with things like elastic audio and x-form - that relies on host processing grunt, and ProTools being able to fully utilise the power of the host, which PT11 can, but PT9 can't. PT11 takes seconds to do renders that take minutes on PT10 and below.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2015, 07:18 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Post Re: Which mac for Elastic Audio/X-Form

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
Big benefit to going to 11, 64bit and as many processors as possible. Hdx isn't involved with things like elastic audio and x-form - that relies on host processing grunt, and ProTools being able to fully utilise the power of the host, which PT11 can, but PT9 can't.
You may want to consider these observations regarding Turbo Boost and the New Mac Pro’s CPUs.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-22-2015, 01:13 PM
blastula blastula is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: Which mac for Elastic Audio/X-Form

Thanks all, great stuff.

I checked out the link and the charts, Jonathan.
The way I understand it, when choosing a computer, and how many cores, it still boils down to the app.
and how well it makes use of the multiple cores.
Still looking for that info (or opinions) regarding Pro Tools 11...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-22-2015, 01:19 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Which mac for Elastic Audio/X-Form

ProTools 11 is the first version of ProTools that properly utilises all the cores available, dynamically, in the 64bit domain. In 32bit versions - v10 and earlier, ProTools simply threw all its native processing demands as one lump to as many processors as you defined in the playback engine settings. In 11 you no longer have this option, and ProTools dynamically shares the processing load across all your processors. This leads to much more efficient processing, which leads to alot more processing headroom. Sessions which ran at 75% on ProTools 10 now run at 23% on ProTools 11, on identical hardware.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-27-2015, 04:33 PM
blastula blastula is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: Which mac for Elastic Audio/X-Form

thanks again...upgrading to hdx pt12 presently
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Mac for Elastic Audio/X-Form blastula Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 06-19-2015 10:50 PM
Elastic Audio: X-Form vs. Disable Elastic Audio sharchik macOS 1 09-22-2014 02:49 AM
Differences between X-Form Plugin & X-Form Elastic Audio? Mason00 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-05-2010 09:51 AM
HELP - Elastic audio x-form bug on PT 8.0.1 and above crisjohnnieb Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-28-2009 11:49 AM
Elastic Audio and X-Form need help D Pinder Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-23-2008 07:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com