Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2013, 02:54 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,486
Default Waves Element Synth

Hi,

Just test driving the new Waves Element synth!

Have to say its really good! Definitely in the style of retro Roland synths, 101/Juno /Jupiter etc. a bit like all roland synthesis in one VI with some great added extras: Effects and a fat EQ section.

Not going to compete with the modern synths ala Rob Papen/Sylenth/Gladiator etc, but defo one if you like the more traditional roland/moog/ Sequential circuits type synth sounds.

Currently on offer @$99 NO BRAINER



Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2013, 06:40 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: Waves Element Synth

Just got it. I have to agree, it's really quite great. Sounds good and the presets are actually relevant to real world needs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2013, 03:28 PM
luken26 luken26 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 144
Default Re: Waves Element Synth

This is better than advertised for the price. It could stand a better reverb IMO but overall not bad. Really like the sequencer. I was an avid (no pun intended), Korg Polysix user back in the day and this seems to fit the mold nicely. It doesn't do what or sound like Omnisphere, some of the Kontakt stuff or many of the modern softsynths available, but it's not supposed to.
One would think "who needs another subtracter synth" but that would be like saying "who needs another guitar company or another variation on a Les Paul, Strat, etc.
It certainly won't be for everyone but after almost a week it has found a place in my studio. There is a 7 day demo available. If you don't already have something like this in your arsenal you may want to give it a try.
__________________
CS 450v4 Intel Xeon E3-1276v3 QuadCore @ 3.60GHz
Win 8.1 with 32 GB DDR3/1600
Antelope Orion Studio HD/Native, Eleven Rack (ERXP 2.0.1), Focusrite ISA 2, Warm Audio TB12, Console 1, AKAI MPK261, KRK V8 Series 4 Monitors, Avantone Pro Mixcubes.
Pro Tools 2018.4 Ultimate, Studio One Pro 3.5.6, VEP 6, Wavelab 9, Blue Cat, Exponential Audio. Eventide, IK, iZotope, McDSP, Metric Halo, Slate Digital, Softube, Sonnox, Soundtoys, WAVES.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2013, 05:23 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,982
Default Re: Waves Element Synth

I love the sound of this synth but...

For those of us having GUI issues with Waves, this PI is the worst yet. I have not been able to bring up a full-uncorrupted GUI after over an hour of trying.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2013, 10:10 AM
Rubicon's Avatar
Rubicon Rubicon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 520
Default Re: Waves Element Synth

I own it as part of Mercury and checked it out. It's cool but nowhere near the sound of my Voyager XL. It's like having a tiger in the room with you verses watching one on tv.

That being said element is now part of my production template.

Rubicon
__________________
Wikipedia
IMDB
ITunes

ML 10.8.2, PT 10.3.1 HD Accel 3, Mac Harpertown 32gb Apple RAM, 4 1T Apple Drives, Waves Mercury. Lots of unstable VI's.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2013, 04:26 AM
ultraviolet66 ultraviolet66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: ITALY
Posts: 2
Default Re: Waves Element Synth

Hi ,i have purchace three days ago Elements,but i have a problem:in stand alone it's all ok,but in rtas pro tools 9 ( OSX 10.6.8.) pro tools make crash within other plug in open,what the problem?
sorry 4 my bad english..
Marco
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-19-2013, 08:54 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: Waves Element Synth

Could be something other than Element as it works perfectly on my P Tools 10.3.3 HD system, on a Mac Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-19-2013, 09:49 AM
ultraviolet66 ultraviolet66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: ITALY
Posts: 2
Default Re: Waves Element Synth

I can not understand what could be .....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waves Element FS Picophone Buy & Sell 0 01-24-2014 10:52 PM
Waves Element Picophone Buy & Sell 0 11-20-2013 09:03 PM
changing session element pitches bubbiesdod Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 7 11-07-2006 08:55 AM
powercore element compatibility with le 6.4?????? oscarfenderstrat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-23-2005 09:00 AM
TC Powercore Element vs UAD 1 hgen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-29-2004 04:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com