Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #271  
Old 02-26-2013, 11:58 PM
Dave Lang Dave Lang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

http://bostonherald.com/business/tec...s_some_editing
Reply With Quote
  #272  
Old 02-27-2013, 09:16 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,330
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Lang View Post
...
I don't think that defending this company against all criticism is useful at this time...
I think negative speculation before we have any facts is even less useful.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #273  
Old 02-27-2013, 09:18 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
From the Terms Of Use:

"Avid reserves the right to remove posts or restrict the posting privileges of individuals that exhibit a clear agenda designed to slander, insult, or otherwise undermine Avid, its employees, our development partners, or any other company or individual."

Doesn't explain why they killed that thread about Hot Dogs

Burgers are apparently fine, but Hot Dogs...
Reply With Quote
  #274  
Old 02-27-2013, 09:35 AM
blairl blairl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Posts: 1,084
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Lang View Post
I've been using ProTools with various hardware on various platforms to perform various jobs since the system before the Mix system (can't even remember what the name of it was then.)
"Pro Tools III" with a "Disk I/O" card, and "DSP Farm" card or cards.
Reply With Quote
  #275  
Old 02-27-2013, 10:17 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
I think negative speculation before we have any facts is even less useful.
Exactly.

I'm not trying to sugar coat anything since delaying their annual report isn't great news but filing one with unresolved issues would both illegal and unethical. And its not uncustomary to order a look at the books any time theres a changing of the guard. At the moment no one knows what the issues are. Or how severe they are. It could be the new CEO wanting to recalculate and restate some figures before they close the books.

Neither law firm currently seems to have any specific charges which tends to suggest they may have their best interests in mind. Both are asking for information.

All in all its not positive news and hopefully in the end it's much a do about nothing and simply the new guard wanting time get the books in order. Time will tell.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #276  
Old 02-27-2013, 10:27 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,356
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
I think negative speculation before we have any facts is even less useful.
+1 It's an investigation, which has not been completed, and therefore not come to any conclusions yet.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #277  
Old 02-27-2013, 10:28 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,356
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Quote:
Doesn't explain why they killed that thread about Hot Dogs
Wait what? There was a thread about hot dogs and I missed it!
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #278  
Old 02-27-2013, 10:38 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Kolchak View Post
Doesn't explain why they killed that thread about Hot Dogs

Burgers are apparently fine, but Hot Dogs...
Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
Wait what? There was a thread about hot dogs and I missed it!
Me too. Kinda bummed.

Like Brats better my self.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #279  
Old 02-27-2013, 03:32 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Exactly.

I'm not trying to sugar coat anything since delaying their annual report isn't great news but filing one with unresolved issues would both illegal and unethical. And its not uncustomary to order a look at the books any time theres a changing of the guard. At the moment no one knows what the issues are. Or how severe they are. It could be the new CEO wanting to recalculate and restate some figures before they close the books.

Neither law firm currently seems to have any specific charges which tends to suggest they may have their best interests in mind. Both are asking for information.

All in all its not positive news and hopefully in the end it's much a do about nothing and simply the new guard wanting time get the books in order. Time will tell.

From what I can tell, they just seem to be ambulance chasers.

It just looks like Avid realised the might have made an honest miscalculation in a couple of their accounts, and opted for an extension, rather than submit suspect figures - which of course is above board, and a matter of public knowledge.

The law firms are going to jump on any & every company in this predicament, because there is the slim chance of impropriety, which could convince share holders to hire said law firms for possible damages claims.

The law firms are in it for the fees, and potential commission if they uncover evidence of foul play, and if they convince share holders to hire them, and if they win the case.

The law firms are going to be competing with each other, much like Paparazzi competing for photo's outside a stretch Limo. And whilst they may grab a shot of some starlet stepping out of the Limo without her underwear on, it's more likely a drunken hen party of nobodies will spill out of the car, and throw up everywhere - no story there, and probably no story here either.
Reply With Quote
  #280  
Old 02-27-2013, 03:38 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,356
Default Re: AVID Must DO Something for AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Kolchak View Post
And whilst they may grab a shot of some starlet stepping out of the Limo without her underwear on, it's more likely a drunken hen party of nobodies will spill out of the car, and throw up everywhere - no story there, and probably no story here either.
I personally don't see much difference in either one. It's a shame they don't just publish both types of photos/stories in the tabloids, because they both have the exact same interest level for me(NONE!)
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Avid HEAT run in PTHD 10/11 without an Avid Audio Interface or HDX Card? hatepop Pro Tools 11 1 12-19-2013 02:26 AM
Unable to locate Avid hardware. Avid Pro Tools SE 8.0.3 (M-Audio KeyStudio 49) azndisast3r Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 3 09-21-2013 03:31 PM
Will (Avid/M-Audio) Pro Tools MP 9 support Avid Vocal Studio: Producer USB Microphone XDosShane Windows 0 02-04-2012 10:17 PM
AVID Website | Pros & Cons | Dedicated to the AVID Web Crew 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 07-28-2010 09:49 PM
New Avid Brand Identity, Product Announcements and an updated Avid.com Avid General Announcements 0 04-20-2009 01:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com