Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2012, 12:25 AM
SmokinBaldMonkey SmokinBaldMonkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 132
Default PCIe HD Accel with Thunderbolt Magma - FAIL

I bought the Retina MBP. Installed PTHD10.3.2, and hooked up the Magma Expressbox 3T.

FAIL.

The Magma box is seen by the computer but Pro Tools does not see the Magma Box. When running Digitest it shows "?UNKNOWN?" and indicates that it can not acquire any information from the Magma box.

I am getting some feedback from various sources that Avid actually has no plans to support any PCIe TDM hardware on thunderbolt.

Time to go RME I think...
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Funki - I came, I saw, I laid the stank down

System 1: Retina MBP 512SSD/16RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
System 2: Mac Mini - 512SSD/8RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
OSX 10.8.5
Pro Tools 10 HD
Pro Tools 11 HD
SYNC HD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2012, 12:26 AM
SmokinBaldMonkey SmokinBaldMonkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 132
Default Re: PCIe HD Accel with Thunderbolt Magma - FAIL

oh, and FWIW, I had a PCIe HD2 Accel in that Magma box.

And the Mac does see the magma box, but the Mac can not see any PCIe Cards IN the magma box.
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Funki - I came, I saw, I laid the stank down

System 1: Retina MBP 512SSD/16RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
System 2: Mac Mini - 512SSD/8RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
OSX 10.8.5
Pro Tools 10 HD
Pro Tools 11 HD
SYNC HD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2012, 01:10 AM
Firechild Firechild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 806
Default Re: PCIe HD Accel with Thunderbolt Magma - FAIL

That is sad news.
This thread should be moved to TDM though.

Can΄t see why it should be technically possible to make it working, so it must be a "strategical" decision from AVID.
I think things are going in the wrong direction right now.
Pro Tools HD is the best and solid platform I have ever tried, also best sounding with the new I/O hardware, it should be disaster if we stop supporting AVID with our money. We really need Pro Tools 11 and a MKII version of the HDX card.
There is NO way professionals will accept native as a solution when tracking.
What happen if they stop developing Pro Tools 11...?
I used to use Logic 9 but its the most unstable DAW ever built and Apple is now ONLY focusing on iOS and Joe Average to sell quantities instead of making great software for professionals.
So, abandon AVID will make you a Garageband user in the end...not good imho.
__________________
HD3 PCIe, HD I/O , HD10.3.10, Mac Pro 6 core , 24 GB RAM , GTX285 , 10.8.5 , UAD-2 Quad Satellite , ATC SCM25A Pro with ADAM Sub 12.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2012, 05:33 AM
Rammelt Rammelt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 338
Default Re: PCIe HD Accel with Thunderbolt Magma - FAIL

Yes,

Avid needs to update the drivers for the HD cards for them to work in any Thunderbolt expansion chassis.
They did for the HDX and HD Native cards but have no plans (at least no official) to do so for the HD cards.
Very sad indeed.
__________________
******************
John Rammelt
Producer / Composer / Post
Hajp AB

old site:
Soundfactory JPR
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-31-2012, 09:22 PM
SmokinBaldMonkey SmokinBaldMonkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 132
Default Re: PCIe HD Accel with Thunderbolt Magma - FAIL

Well, the native card I bought today doesnt work either. That will teach me to buy any of the [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] that Avid and Magma put out, wont it?

Time to go get my money back on this fkkk-worthless native card and put my TDM rig together again.
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Funki - I came, I saw, I laid the stank down

System 1: Retina MBP 512SSD/16RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
System 2: Mac Mini - 512SSD/8RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
OSX 10.8.5
Pro Tools 10 HD
Pro Tools 11 HD
SYNC HD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-31-2012, 09:30 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: PCIe HD Accel with Thunderbolt Magma - FAIL

The HD Native card works great with this chassis:

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/Thund...ercury_Helios/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-31-2012, 09:39 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,084
Default Re: PCIe HD Accel with Thunderbolt Magma - FAIL

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
The HD Native card works great with this chassis:

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/Thund...ercury_Helios/
We are looking into buying a macbook pro as a setup we can use un our motoryacht so is this expansion chassi a good price and it said something about a deal on ssd and the chassi! Does that combo mean that we can use the ssd disc as a audio drive and have the pcie native card on the same TB connection? Dont really understand that and what the SSD drives are? Do they do the same job as spinning discs but faster and better I take it?

Thanx friends
Chris
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2012, 09:56 AM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 707
Default Re: PCIe HD Accel with Thunderbolt Magma - FAIL

The SSD they are referring to with the Helios are their PCI SSD cards. Since you'd be using a HD Native card in the enclosure it doesn't apply.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2014, 07:26 AM
dcboucher dcboucher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: LA, CA 90025
Posts: 97
Default Re: PCIe HD Accel with Thunderbolt Magma - FAIL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firechild View Post
This thread should be moved to TDM though.
There's not a soul at AVID that ever looks at that forum. Anybody that could do anything to help doesn't even realize that there are still TDM users out here.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-26-2014, 11:12 AM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 822
Default Re: PCIe HD Accel with Thunderbolt Magma - FAIL

Hi,
We ran a native card in a Magma and it was fine.
You have to make sure the firmware version is correct, which is an adventure in itself.
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone running Accel cards in Thunderbolt to PCIe chassis? digidesigner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 03-02-2014 05:03 PM
Magma EB4 - ExpressBox 4 (2U) - Windows boot freeze, not starting with PCIe HD3 Accel gandlz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 5 02-11-2014 10:16 AM
Magma will introduce "ROBEN" Thunderbolt/PCIe expansion products nst7 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 10-01-2013 09:28 AM
New thunderbolt magma pcie adaptor..... PT user Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 06-17-2012 10:26 PM
PCI HD Accel cards, Magma pci chassis and newer PCIe Macs CD Productions Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-07-2008 09:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com