Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2012, 02:57 AM
sammyfarr sammyfarr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London
Posts: 110
Default HDX Madi with SSL Alpha-Link AX

Hi All,

ive had a look around the forums but cant find anything conclusive...

im looking at buying this combination as it seems the cheapest way to get an hdx rig with 24 analogue and digital i/o. I wonder if anyone has this running and if there are any issues/complications that are worth considering?

somewhere in one of the forums i read that pro tools cant compensate for input delays created by non avid converters, ive only ever used digi or avid converters so dont know if this is an issue or if theres a setting to overcome it?

any advice would be greatly appreciated!

thanks

Sam
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2012, 04:21 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: HDX Madi with SSL Alpha-Link AX

Pro Tools will compensate for your convertors. The values it will compensate for however will not be your 3rd party convertors. It will see it as an Avid interface and by default compensate for those values.

Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2012, 02:23 AM
phatbeatstudio phatbeatstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 566
Default Re: HDX Madi with SSL Alpha-Link AX

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammyfarr View Post
Hi All,

ive had a look around the forums but cant find anything conclusive...

im looking at buying this combination as it seems the cheapest way to get an hdx rig with 24 analogue and digital i/o. I wonder if anyone has this running and if there are any issues/complications that are worth considering?

somewhere in one of the forums i read that pro tools cant compensate for input delays created by non avid converters, ive only ever used digi or avid converters so dont know if this is an issue or if theres a setting to overcome it?

any advice would be greatly appreciated!

thanks

Sam
Well even if it didn't compensate for them automatically ,I assume you could do it manually . Wouldn't the delay usually be the same so if you figured it out once then rinse and reuse. just like a condom well maybe not on second thought.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2012, 05:11 PM
sammyfarr sammyfarr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London
Posts: 110
Default Re: HDX Madi with SSL Alpha-Link AX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Lambrechts View Post
Pro Tools will compensate for your convertors. The values it will compensate for however will not be your 3rd party convertors. It will see it as an Avid interface and by default compensate for those values.

Chris
Thanks Chris, that's what I thought. Is it possible to adjust the amount p tools compensates?

Cheers

Sam
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 and SSL X Logic Alpha Link Madi AX Basslab macOS 0 01-25-2013 10:07 AM
PT10 with XLogic Alpha-Link MADI AX? Riversyde Pro Tools 10 0 02-16-2012 03:53 PM
PT 10 + SSL Alpha-Link Madi-AX and MIDI bfire Pro Tools 10 1 01-14-2012 05:42 PM
does Alpha-link Madi works with PT9? coloquinte Pro Tools 9 21 07-12-2011 12:09 AM
HD PCIe with SSL Delta link MADI HD Alpha link MADI AX Juraj Bernáth Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-10-2009 08:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com