Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2012, 05:06 PM
bryced87 bryced87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 410
Default Importing a mix session template into a record edit session

Hello

I am trying to figure out what the best way to Mix my music is. I have several things recorded and edited now and I'm wondering if I can import a mix session template I've created into my existing record/edit session? If so how would I go about getting all the plug ins buses submixes etc that I have set up in my mix session routed into the record/edit session? I know some people have a record/edit/mix session all in one but I'm concerned this would take up a lot of procession power and I'm on a macbook pro with hardly enough ram as it is. I do record onto an external hard drive though. Please let me know what your advice is. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2012, 05:24 AM
PD-John PD-John is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 488
Default Re: Importing a mix session template into a record edit session

Why do you need a separate mix session? I always record, edit and mix within the same session, and if needed I'll Import Session Data from other sessions like location recordings etc.

I'm curious as to what's so different about your Mix session template from the record/edit session? If it's just I/O settings (buses, routing etc.) you can go to Setup > I/O and import a different I/O template. Otherwise I suggest mixing from the same session as it won't be a big help to your computer processing power by having a separate mix session. If you've got a lot of elastic audio tracks, try consolidating them to save CPU power.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing many session files to make a new long session velwestvoices Pro Tools 10 4 04-30-2012 04:38 PM
How to edit a (Stationery) Session template? Choral14 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-09-2009 10:14 PM
How...Create New session with Session Template TDelmar Tips & Tricks 5 10-22-2008 09:29 PM
Importing session data from a template King of Spain 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-12-2008 10:25 AM
If I edit files after exporting to 2nd session, how is 1st session affected? el biciclista 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 04-02-2002 01:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com