Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2011, 09:27 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ Ports

Am I to understand you can put an HD1 pcie card in this an example and connect via Thunderbolt?

http://www.sonnettech.com/news/pr201...underbolt.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2011, 11:23 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ P

Yes. Or an HD Native card. Assuming this works, it will be a great thing. And I've asked a few questions on the phone with these guys. One appealing thing is that the last I heard it will be an MSRP of $499, which means it will be even less through dealers. Way better than Magma's prices.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2011, 12:40 AM
Recallbeats Recallbeats is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,047
Default Re: Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ P

depending on the card size, maybe the hd core will fit to this box. Unfortunetly only do 1 Pcie slot...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2011, 07:54 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ P

The write-up says it will be available in half-length and full length, both with cooling fans and power supplies.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2011, 11:47 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,727
Default Re: Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ P

I bet if they made a PCI version of this, you would have a lot of happy Pro Tools HD users.

Recalibeats, how did you find out it only does 1 PCIe slot? It would be great if it could do 3 or more.

Heck... Why doesn't Avid ever consider making stuff like this? It would satisfy many more of their customers and make them some extra cash.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2011, 01:12 PM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 547
Default Re: Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ P

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
Why doesn't Avid ever consider making stuff like this? It would satisfy many more of their customers and make them some extra cash.
If Avid made this it would cost $5k instead of $500.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2011, 01:26 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,360
Default Re: Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ P

These are cool, but since they only hold a single card they aren't really practical for TDM core systems for most people. Assuming it will be compatible, it's very cool if you're using the HD native card.

If an updated TDM core card with more DSP capability comes out any time soon, this could be very cool.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-22-2011, 07:36 PM
Mikey MTC Mikey MTC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 552
Default Re: Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ P

I'm anticipating we won't be seeing "cards" as we know them at all in the future.

Imagine a non-descript box or even another computer with nothing but Pro Tools DSP muscle in it that connects via a single Thunderbolt connector to the host computer. (Even a laptop!)

So instead of my current system of a breakout PCI card into a huge and fragile chassis with six cards in it, I would have a single Thunderbolt connector going to another computer or black box that contained 2x, 4x or 10x the DSP power that I've had for 10 years.

Bandwidth wise, we're talking 10Gbps which is vastly more than all those gigabit ethernet based solutions. And if I'm not mistaken, this is also way more bandwidth than the PCIe solutions we're using now.

Thunderbolt made the all the video guys' jaws drop when they saw how much uncompressed HD video they can shove down the pipes, but I just dreamed about how much real-time DSP us Pro Tools guys can process. Surely these overly expensive and cumbersome PCI cards are finished?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-22-2011, 08:27 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,727
Default Re: Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ P

I so hope you are right. A Thunderbolt DSP system is definitely my hopes.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-22-2011, 08:30 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ P

shortest path is best, external increases potential problems (damages cables, damage ports)

I love the idea but dreed the potential damage
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Helios Thunderbolt PCIe Expansion Chassis JimmyM Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 11-04-2014 01:35 AM
Sonnet Thunderbolt Chassis NOW QUALIFIED SmokinBaldMonkey Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 02-26-2014 10:15 PM
Sonnet Echo Express III-R Thunderbolt PCIe Expansion Chassis Andi R Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 22 02-05-2014 11:35 PM
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 06:49 PM
Thunderbolt PCie Expansion chassis rhumphries Post - Surround - Video 11 10-19-2011 01:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com