Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2011, 04:11 AM
olamo olamo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Default PT 9 Windows - Gui requests

1. Wonder why you still can't maximize the edit window to get rid of the edit window title bar?

2. And please let us have the mixer window available outside the Pro Tools window frame (similar to the video Window)

3. Speaking of the video Window; please add the option fullscreen, not only fit screen. I want to dedicate my 3rd screen to video output only, meaning letterboxed and scaled with nothing else disturbing the video view. I know you can do this with dedicated hardware/firewire, but why not with the internal video window?

Best regards,
Ola
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2011, 09:56 AM
Irish916 Irish916 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lehighton, PA
Posts: 53
Default Re: PT 9 Windows - Gui requests

I would absolutely second #2 on your list. If someone knows how to do this, please share. My understanding is that it's a limitation of the program. We need features to undock or float all windows for those of us who use multiple monitors.
__________________
  • PT 9.5
  • O/S Win 7 Pro x64
  • CPU: Intel i7 2600k
  • EVGA P67 SLI
  • Memory, 16gb, DDR 3 @ 1866mhz
  • WD Caviar SATA III drive (O/S)
  • Seagate 1TB , WD1.5TB SATA II
  • UAD Nevana X2
  • Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 (MC 2.4)
  • Nvidia- 8800 GT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2011, 10:34 AM
GtrDude GtrDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA.
Posts: 662
Default Re: PT 9 Windows - Gui requests

Definitely like both suggestions very much.

I also have multiple monitors running HD2 and PT has very limited support.

GD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2011, 02:15 AM
olamo olamo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Default Re: PT 9 Windows - Gui requests

The Mac side of things are superior in terms of GUI - whonder why?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2011, 12:56 PM
olamo olamo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Default Re: PT 9 Windows - Gui requests

bump
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2011, 01:18 PM
DarylG DarylG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 303
Default Re: PT 9 Windows - Gui requests

I could hardly believe my eyes when I found that I couldn't get the Mixer window on my other monitor. This seems such a basic thing.

D
__________________
ProTools 9.02
2 x Intel Xeon x5675 3.07GHz Hex Core
48GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
ATI HD5400 series graphics card
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-12-2011, 01:35 PM
Webb Webb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 77
Default Re: PT 9 Windows - Gui requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarylG View Post
I could hardly believe my eyes when I found that I couldn't get the Mixer window on my other monitor. This seems such a basic thing.

D
Why can't you? I have my edit window on one monitor and my mix window on another.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2011, 02:01 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: PT 9 Windows - Gui requests

Google "Skootch"

Version4 is now in Beta.

1 and 2 are adressed. Not sure about 3
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-12-2011, 02:05 PM
fakir_cz fakir_cz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 226
Default Re: PT 9 Windows - Gui requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarylG View Post
I could hardly believe my eyes when I found that I couldn't get the Mixer window on my other monitor. This seems such a basic thing.
When I was on PC, I did this easily by dragging the PT desktop to both monitors (manually, maximize won't work) and then I could have anything anywhere.

Tom
__________________
BcA. Tomas Vitha
Sound Designer and Mixer

2010 Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, OS X 10.6.6, PT HD 9.0.3, Mbox 2 Pro, C|24
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-12-2011, 02:48 PM
DarylG DarylG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 303
Default Re: PT 9 Windows - Gui requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by fakir_cz View Post
When I was on PC, I did this easily by dragging the PT desktop to both monitors (manually, maximize won't work) and then I could have anything anywhere.

Tom
This only works if both monitors have the same resolution. As my second monitor is an LCD TV, this doesn't work.

D
__________________
ProTools 9.02
2 x Intel Xeon x5675 3.07GHz Hex Core
48GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
ATI HD5400 series graphics card
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Requests from Shan Kris75 Virtual Instruments 1 04-07-2007 06:33 AM
Feature Requests priorytools Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-09-2007 08:48 AM
Requests mtung ICON & C|24 8 05-10-2006 12:59 PM
Bugs, feature requests and tip requests! Basil Rush Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 12-07-2005 09:21 AM
5.1 Fix Requests stuart newman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 27 05-18-2001 12:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com