Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2009, 07:21 AM
princeplanet princeplanet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 104
Default PCIe to PCIx adaptor

There's one from a french company called Virtua Via. It claims to work with PT cards. Any experience with these things, anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2009, 07:35 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 872
Default Re: PCIe to PCIx adaptor

Quote:
Originally Posted by princeplanet View Post
There's one from a french company called Virtua Via. It claims to work with PT cards. Any experience with these things, anyone?
http://www.virtuavia.eu/shop/index.php?target=products&product_id=29855&sl=%3C? php%20echo%20$lang;%20?%3E

Yeah, there's a thread over on Gearslutz . Someone brave has bought one, but hasn't tried it with HD yet....10,000 PCI HD owners cross their fingers
__________________
Studio A: Mac Pro 12 core, OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID I/O 16xanalog i/o x2 , Benchmark DAC1, 32 Fader Procontrol
Studio B: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.8.5, PT 10.3.10, HD3 Accel , 192-Digitalx2, Apogee+Audient/Converters
Home: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.9.5, PT 10.3.10, HD3 Accel. 96 i/o (Dual boot with) OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Mobile: 2017 Macbook Pro, OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2009, 07:57 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: PCIe to PCIx adaptor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ru_C View Post
http://www.virtuavia.eu/shop/index.php?target=products&product_id=29855&sl=%3C? php%20echo%20$lang;%20?%3E

Yeah, there's a thread over on Gearslutz . Someone brave has bought one, but hasn't tried it with HD yet....10,000 PCI HD owners cross their fingers
we cross our fingers...what does digi to ?

is there and official resonse on this?
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2009, 08:13 AM
TCLguy1 TCLguy1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 344
Default Re: PCIe to PCIx adaptor

now this looks very interesting...!!

Has anybody tried it?
__________________
Best,
TCLguy
_________________________________________
12-Core Xeon 3.33, Antelope Audio Goliath, Logic, Live, PT12HD
Dual 2.7 G5, ProTools HD3, 2*192's, SSL Delta Link
iMac 3.0 , Abelton live
MacBook Pro, Logic X for Video
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2009, 08:16 AM
TCLguy1 TCLguy1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 344
Default Re: PCIe to PCIx adaptor

Wait, Windows only?
__________________
Best,
TCLguy
_________________________________________
12-Core Xeon 3.33, Antelope Audio Goliath, Logic, Live, PT12HD
Dual 2.7 G5, ProTools HD3, 2*192's, SSL Delta Link
iMac 3.0 , Abelton live
MacBook Pro, Logic X for Video
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2009, 08:26 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 872
Default Re: PCIe to PCIx adaptor

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCLguy1 View Post
Wait, Windows only?
Nah, it's straight hardware i get the impression...there shouldn't be any drivers...the G.S poster had it working with a PCI firewire card inside a PCIe G5 with no issues..
__________________
Studio A: Mac Pro 12 core, OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID I/O 16xanalog i/o x2 , Benchmark DAC1, 32 Fader Procontrol
Studio B: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.8.5, PT 10.3.10, HD3 Accel , 192-Digitalx2, Apogee+Audient/Converters
Home: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.9.5, PT 10.3.10, HD3 Accel. 96 i/o (Dual boot with) OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Mobile: 2017 Macbook Pro, OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2009, 08:27 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 872
Default Re: PCIe to PCIx adaptor

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiojimi View Post
we cross our fingers...what does digi to ?
They (& Magma etc) cross their fingers that it *doesn't* work
__________________
Studio A: Mac Pro 12 core, OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID I/O 16xanalog i/o x2 , Benchmark DAC1, 32 Fader Procontrol
Studio B: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.8.5, PT 10.3.10, HD3 Accel , 192-Digitalx2, Apogee+Audient/Converters
Home: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.9.5, PT 10.3.10, HD3 Accel. 96 i/o (Dual boot with) OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Mobile: 2017 Macbook Pro, OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2009, 08:45 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,486
Default Re: PCIe to PCIx adaptor

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiojimi View Post

is there an "un"-official resonse on this?
NOT Qualified and never will be.

I always thought a simple piggy back device could work, but its a lot more complicated than just connecting the pins with a different voltage or whatever its doing.
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-2009, 08:47 AM
LateRiser's Avatar
LateRiser LateRiser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 26
Default Re: PCIe to PCIx adaptor

In their webshop I noticed they also sell a very reasonably priced PCIe to PCI expansion box:

http://www.virtuavia.eu/shop/pci-exp...ox-p29809.html

If only this would work with PT I could finally upgrade my aging G5..

Any reports?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-24-2009, 09:50 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: PCIe to PCIx adaptor

I don't think it would hurt anything to try but it will be a tight fit inside a Mac Pro
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New thunderbolt magma pcie adaptor..... PT user Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 06-17-2012 10:26 PM
Would this work? PCI to PCIE adaptor jcolagross Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 5 04-02-2011 11:07 AM
PCIX or PCIE jerberson12 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 06-02-2010 10:59 AM
PCIx to PCIe K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-18-2008 07:25 AM
What would you do? (PCIe or PCIx) KimSira Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-23-2005 01:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com