Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2019, 11:24 PM
Michael Carpenter Michael Carpenter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 216
Default DigiLink I/O, 12.6. Mojave?

Hey all...

First post in many many years, with a rock solid system for many years now. However, all things must end...

My main audio computer went down early in the week. A MBP running Sierra, PT 12.6, a Native Thunderbolt interface.

I hooked up my newer MBP which has had a stable Mojave running PT 12.6 (i know it says it's not supported, but it's been working totally solidly as my 'home' system.) Obviously it didn't connect with my Native Thunderbolt. I assume because i didn't have the DigiLink I/O. So i purchased that, reinstalled the drivers, and i still can't get it happening.

I've done a search of the DUC and tried removing the relevant files suggested, trashing preferences etc but there's no difference.

Can anyone offer any assistance? Or is there just system incompatibilities that i can't get past?

(As an aside, i've gotten through my sessions using a $100 Focusrite interface via USB which connected immediately and has been running at it's lowest buffer setting without a hiccup. Why is this Avid interface situation so complicated?)

Thanks in advance for your help.

MC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2019, 01:12 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 668
Default Re: DigiLink I/O, 12.6. Mojave?

Have you installed the Avid HD driver? Often it doesn't pan out straight away even if you have, but a couple of PRAM/NVRAM resets usually sorts it out. Also, I would definitely follow the OSX optimisation recommended by Avid. Stuff like sleep kicks my HDX card out of my system.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. OSX 10.14.6. HDX. Avid Omni. MacBook Pro 2018. 6 Core i7. 32Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI RX580. Sync HD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2019, 07:42 PM
Michael Carpenter Michael Carpenter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 216
Default Re: DigiLink I/O, 12.6. Mojave?

Yes... i have the current HD driver installed. I've uninstalled and reinstalled the version i have of Pro Tools. Checked that the DigiLink is on the iLok. Trashed all preferences. I'm at a loss.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2019, 08:52 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,049
Default Re: DigiLink I/O, 12.6. Mojave?

Hey Michael

Can you specify a bit better exactly what you have in this setup!?

Computer model
Interface
Pcie/thunderbolt?
Connections to computer
Eucon Peripherals?

The more info the better and we will do our best to solve this. As you said you bought a Digilink license which was only needed for 12.6 and up and also HD driver is only for Avid Interfaces.

Try completely removing the HD driver from your system .. every file that has to do with HD driver and download the latest HD driver and see if that helps. Many members has had issues reinstalling over the older HD driver.

Please list the answers asked here aswell.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2019, 12:30 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: DigiLink I/O, 12.6. Mojave?

You've run into an HD Driver compatibility issue. You need the Mojave compatible HD Divers that come with the supported Pro Tools version.

That's your issue.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2019, 01:44 PM
Michael Carpenter Michael Carpenter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 216
Default Re: DigiLink I/O, 12.6. Mojave?

That was what i suspected as well. I can't find a way to remove my current HD driver, and as i'm currently out of the support program and can't afford to get back into it, i can't access the correct driver.

I see Avid offer one time support plans for $75? Maybe that is a way that i can get access to the correct driver, and work out how to uninstall the current driver, unless anyone here wants to talk me through how to do that?

Thanks for your help.

BTW.. computer specs..

15" 2017 MBP. 3.1ghz i7
Mojave 10.14.6
HD Native Thunderbolt

MC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-2019, 01:51 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,049
Default Re: DigiLink I/O, 12.6. Mojave?

I will escalate this and see if they (Avid support) can hook you up without having to buy a support ticket. What HD Driver version do you need?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-2019, 01:59 PM
Michael Carpenter Michael Carpenter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 216
Default Re: DigiLink I/O, 12.6. Mojave?

Thank you. This is much appreciated.

My AvidLink updated my driver recently to 2019.10. I'm sure this is part of the problem!

Thank you again.

MC
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-11-2019, 02:07 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,449
Default Re: DigiLink I/O, 12.6. Mojave?

And I will contribute the idiot comment: Make sure you are running Pro Tools Ultimate or HD. Pro Tools standard will never see the DigiLink... make sure Pro Tools is starting up as Ultimate, you have that license on a connected iLok, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-11-2019, 03:47 PM
Michael Carpenter Michael Carpenter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 216
Default Re: DigiLink I/O, 12.6. Mojave?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
And I will contribute the idiot comment: Make sure you are running Pro Tools Ultimate or HD. Pro Tools standard will never see the DigiLink... make sure Pro Tools is starting up as Ultimate, you have that license on a connected iLok, etc.
Ha!! Not an idiotic comment at all!! I'm on HD. But it does beg the question.

Does Pro Tool Ultimate (not the HD version) see HD interfaces? I assume not but am curious...

Thanks again all for your help.

MC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mojave 10.14.6 ? Blues Bird Pro Tools 2019 15 09-01-2019 04:36 PM
Mojave? hanksinclair Artist Series 3 05-03-2019 04:19 PM
Mojave ? Riquier macOS 89 02-26-2019 07:41 PM
AVID Digilink to mini-digilink adapter janmuths Buy & Sell 0 05-31-2014 02:31 PM
Mini-DigiLink (M) to DigiLink (M), does it exist? klaukholm Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 11-17-2013 06:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com