Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2017, 09:38 AM
cguerrero cguerrero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: 3855 Rue Quevillon
Posts: 2
Default Mbox2 pro macOS High Sierra

Today I connected my mbox 2 pro and worked in macOS High Sierra.

I am so happy that i don´t have to buy another interface, I liked mine a lot.

So today is big day, merry Christmas to all of you embox2 pro users
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2017, 01:27 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,050
Default Re: Mbox2 pro macOS High Sierra

Thanks for the positive report.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2019.10, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2018, 07:05 AM
thesquack thesquack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Default Re: Mbox2 pro macOS High Sierra

cguerrero, I also have an Mbox2 Pro and High Sierra but mine is not working. How did you get yours to work? Anything special?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2018, 03:36 PM
mickelini's Avatar
mickelini mickelini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 45
Default Re: Mbox2 pro macOS High Sierra

I'd also like to know.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2018, 01:02 PM
Apollinaire Apollinaire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Default Re: Mbox2 pro macOS High Sierra

I am not OP, but I received a used Mbox 2 Pro today and managed to get it running on macOS 10.13.4 High Sierra. I will describe what I did in order to get it working:

First, I plugged in the Mbox 2 Pro and then installed the Legacy 10.3.3 driver. During installation, there was a security alert saying that I needed to approve the driver in System Preferences > Security & Privacy. I opened it and pressed the button that appeared there to approve the driver. The installation continued after a couple of minutes, and then the system restarted.
Now, this is where I was briefly disappointed: the Mbox 2 Pro appeared in System Report under Firewire, but it did not appear in the Preferences panel, nor MIDI Audio Setup.

I figured that perhaps because I plugged it in before driver installation, or that perhaps because of the security interruption during installation, these actions may have caused an issue. So I did the following:

1. Unplugged the Mbox 2 Pro from Firewire.
2. Deleted the Digidesign Mbox 2 Pro preference pane from System Preferences (right-click to delete).
3. Ran the Mbox 2 Pro 10.3.3 driver disc image and re-installed the drivers. System Preferences did not interrupt with a security request this time.
4. Once the installer restarted the MacBook Pro, I plugged in the Mbox 2 Pro right when it went dark, before the startup chime.
5. Mbox 2 Pro lights came on, it appeared in Audio MIDI Setup and I was able to configure to 24/96. Working beautifully!

I hope this helps you with issues. I am very happy I worked it out because I won my Mbox 2 Pro in an auction for 99¢.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2019, 08:48 PM
cguerrero cguerrero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: 3855 Rue Quevillon
Posts: 2
Default Re: Mbox2 pro macOS High Sierra

I formatted the mac, cause it was important that the format was mac os journaled extended, but as my mac had Mohave the default format was APFS, so with that, it didn't work. When I tried to format it only gave me that option, So I took out the high-sierra USB, erase the hard disc, and began the recovery only with the Internet to get the option that was by default with Lion, which had journaled extended, I got it after 15 min. Again I formatted the hard disk with journaled extended. Then I put back the USB Installer with Sierra, just press alt while turning on and done. With that, I was sure to get Sierra with journaled extended.... the default format. Before I tried with Sierra many times but it didn't work, also I experienced that the audio controller wasn't working properly...I mean the normal controller that comes with the computer. NOW!!! I'm very happy to say that it is working again!!!!!, for a moment I thought I had to buy a new interface, but anyway...We old school know that that interface is amazing, and works without DC just with the firewire. One more thing, when you are installing the driver be sure is this oneMbox_2_Pro_Driver_10_3_3_Installer_78630.dmg

Another thing, when you are installing the system is gonna ask you that (preferences system didn't allow to continue...), so click in the message, and it is going to take you to a message that says...allow Digidesign to blablabla...say yes...
and...
I'm looking at my yellow button now ready to record

Not very clear? ask anything... we can start a mbox2pro manifesto revolution with high sierra...yes we can..yes we can...
sorry I'm very happy

happy recording guys
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-11-2019, 12:36 PM
Xcurve Xcurve is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 41
Default Re: Mbox2 pro macOS High Sierra

Quote:
Originally Posted by cguerrero View Post
I formatted the mac, cause it was important that the format was mac os journaled extended, but as my mac had Mohave the default format was APFS, so with that, it didn't work. When I tried to format it only gave me that option, So I took out the high-sierra USB, erase the hard disc, and began the recovery only with the Internet to get the option that was by default with Lion, which had journaled extended, I got it after 15 min. Again I formatted the hard disk with journaled extended. Then I put back the USB Installer with Sierra, just press alt while turning on and done. With that, I was sure to get Sierra with journaled extended.... the default format. Before I tried with Sierra many times but it didn't work, also I experienced that the audio controller wasn't working properly...I mean the normal controller that comes with the computer. NOW!!! I'm very happy to say that it is working again!!!!!, for a moment I thought I had to buy a new interface, but anyway...We old school know that that interface is amazing, and works without DC just with the firewire. One more thing, when you are installing the driver be sure is this oneMbox_2_Pro_Driver_10_3_3_Installer_78630.dmg

Another thing, when you are installing the system is gonna ask you that (preferences system didn't allow to continue...), so click in the message, and it is going to take you to a message that says...allow Digidesign to blablabla...say yes...
and...
I'm looking at my yellow button now ready to record

Not very clear? ask anything... we can start a mbox2pro manifesto revolution with high sierra...yes we can..yes we can...
sorry I'm very happy

happy recording guys
What Mac and OS are you using with your MBoxPro2? I'm holding on to Sierria running PT 12.8 on a Mac Pro 5,1. I'm worried about going to High Sierra or Mojave with my MBoxPro2. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2019, 07:03 PM
kkfaudio kkfaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 207
Default Re: Mbox2 pro macOS High Sierra

I’m running mbox2pro on cheese grater, high Sierra, pt 2019.6, with zero problems.
__________________
Kevin Ferrier
Audio & Sound Design
www.trianglepost.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2019, 09:26 AM
onetouchchewi onetouchchewi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Mbox2 pro macOS High Sierra

Hey - I just tried the options described but still am not getting anywhere. I installed the legacy 10.3.3 driver but am not getting the Mbox as an option in the system preference window. Am running on High Sierra 10.13.6. Any other suggestions what I can try to get my Mbox up and running again??? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
macOS High Sierra 10.13 not yet supported Avid Technical Alerts 0 09-25-2017 12:29 PM
macOS Sierra 10.12.4 Pedro perez General Discussion 1 03-27-2017 08:35 PM
S3L-x, PT 12.6 and macOS Sierra? HLD VENUE Live Sound Systems 0 11-01-2016 02:25 PM
PT on macOS Sierra? eesn Pro Tools 12 66 10-02-2016 12:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com