Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 05-17-2019, 11:43 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,320
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
Use the object tool.
Thanks a lot, however would like to just hold down ctrl
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 05-17-2019, 02:09 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinhill View Post
Since we're daydreaming, I'd like a function to lock specific clips to each other, so you can move one and the others will move with it.

And I'd like a function to lock a plugin window open and in a specific place on the screen regardless of what other plugin windows I open or close.
Clip groups already here
Plug in target off already here
Manual already here
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.10 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds/upkeep
----
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 05-17-2019, 02:43 PM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 105
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by DetroitT View Post
Clip groups already here
Plug in target off already here
Manual already here
OK - it's a fair cop, no excuse, egg on face etc. Been using Pro Tools for years and never stopped to wonder what that little red square in the plugin window did. (Holding down shift when opening a plugin became ingrained instead!)

The reference guide is 1,500 pages long. I do try to look things up in it - and occasionally I do find things I should have known and would have made use of if I had. One of these days I'm going to sit down for a day and just read the whole thing. There must be loads of stuff I'm doing the long way that I could be doing the short way.
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 05-17-2019, 07:43 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 390
Default Re: 2019.8

haha don't worry dude, I've been doing this on PT for 10 years and never opened the manual once.....just keep workin....
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 05-17-2019, 09:28 PM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 31
Default Re: 2019.8

Another vote for delay compensated sidechain in the native mixer.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 05-17-2019, 10:37 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,053
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
ARA2 ARA2 ARA2 !!

Yes indeed! This one is at the top of my list.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate & Vanilla 2019.10 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.6 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 05-17-2019, 11:54 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,191
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by JingleDjango View Post
Another vote for delay compensated sidechain in the native mixer.
Wouldn't it be great? Actually I'm amazed that HDX customers haven't been vocal about this as sometimes the HDX session is taken to native and back and toggling this "feature" on and off may change the sound of the mix radically.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 05-18-2019, 01:22 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 284
Default Re: 2019.8

Talking without knowledge here. There are 3 types of latency: pt internal, I/o buffer size and from the ad/da themself. Isn’t pt sidechain latency from the pt internal? That is so low it seems it doesn’t mess with my mixes. Anyway it would be cool to have it compensated for native.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.10 Native
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 05-18-2019, 02:09 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,191
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
Talking without knowledge here. There are 3 types of latency: pt internal, I/o buffer size and from the ad/da themself. Isn’t pt sidechain latency from the pt internal? That is so low it seems it doesn’t mess with my mixes. Anyway it would be cool to have it compensated for native.
PT internal latency? No such thing. Native systems roundtrip latency is AD/DA plus playback buffer, nothing more. If you have DSP then add X samples of processing as per whatever plugins you use.

Now back to the SC compensation, last I've heard the reason why it isn't on native is because you need DSP mixer for it. Okay, for now perhaps, but I cannot think of a reason why the feature could not be implemented in Native mixer.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 05-18-2019, 06:15 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 284
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
PT internal latency? No such thing.
Enhance talking without knowledge 🤣
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.10 Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019.5 is here!! LightWing Pro Tools 2019 37 05-17-2019 12:40 AM
Pt 2019 paldry Pro Tools 12 7 05-12-2019 05:18 AM
Looks like at least 2019 before new Mac Pro K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 04-19-2018 07:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com