Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2011, 01:34 PM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default PT 9.0.2 - WHAT on earth Happened here AVID!!!

I have been through hell and back since installing this version.

Everything is so erratic I cant even believe it.

I have NOT yet installed this version on my main HD RIG: SO I use the HD version on my Home Mac. A Nehalem dual 8 core 2.66 GHZ.

9.0.2 --- Is constantly conflicting with Core Audio. When PT is running randomly I cannot launch any other apps. Their dock icon is just sitting there bouncing in the dock. Then I try opening Apple AUdio Midi Manager and that will just spin around. Then I quit PT and every thing is fine.

Now I am double clicking in a region in the region list because I want to rename it... The dialog opens but it is NOT susceptible to keyboard input.
It is not the keyboard because when I close the dialog I can use the keyboard to play and stop.

Other times I hit Playback in Protools and then I get a crash report from OS X saying that System Preferences has unexpectedly quit. IT WASN'T open in the first place...
This is really erratic.

I have a backup of 9.0.1 and that does NOT exhibit this erratic behavior along side with the not being able to rename my regions and audio files.

This is buggies PT release I have witnessed in my 6 years of using PT-
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2011, 02:00 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,714
Default Re: PT 9.0.2 - WHAT on earth Happened here AVID!!!

Did you install the Pro Tools HD Driver for Mac?
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2011, 03:04 PM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: PT 9.0.2 - WHAT on earth Happened here AVID!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Did you install the Pro Tools HD Driver for Mac?
Hey Dave,

yeah I did. Thanks for chiming in!
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2011, 06:05 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 978
Default Re: PT 9.0.2 - WHAT on earth Happened here AVID!!!

PT 9.0.2 working fine here...
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2011, 09:59 AM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: PT 9.0.2 - WHAT on earth Happened here AVID!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 25ghosts View Post
Hey Dave,

yeah I did. Thanks for chiming in!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Did you install the Pro Tools HD Driver for Mac?
That's what caused my problems. I did that, then upgraded Protools, and every time I hit play I'd get a loop of the first couple of seconds of the project, and have to force quit.

I reran the upgrade and everything was fine.

I reread that section a couple of times and came to the conclusion that the HD Drivers were only necessary for first time installers of 9 (it's very unclear).
If you are upgrading you already have them? I mean if they're necessary why aren't they included in the upgrade?
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2011, 10:09 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,714
Default Re: PT 9.0.2 - WHAT on earth Happened here AVID!!!

I'm not clear on this either.

The current PT HD Driver seems to be v9.0 dated 25/10/10

Also, the PDF on the HD Driver download page...
http://akmedia.digidesign.com/suppor...ired_69761.pdf
says for Pro Tools HD and HD Native systems, the Pro Tools installer installs the necessary files automatically.

I don't get this. If the PT Installer installs everything automatically, why is there a separate HD Driver installer? I don't remember using the Driver installer when I did a first time install of PT9.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2011, 10:39 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,636
Default Re: PT 9.0.2 - WHAT on earth Happened here AVID!!!

Did you try trashing preferences, including the specific Core Audio preferences indicated in the General Troubleshooting thread?

What about testing from a different administrator account?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-15-2011, 10:41 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,636
Default Re: PT 9.0.2 - WHAT on earth Happened here AVID!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
I'm not clear on this either.

The current PT HD Driver seems to be v9.0 dated 25/10/10

Also, the PDF on the HD Driver download page...
http://akmedia.digidesign.com/suppor...ired_69761.pdf
says for Pro Tools HD and HD Native systems, the Pro Tools installer installs the necessary files automatically.

I don't get this. If the PT Installer installs everything automatically, why is there a separate HD Driver installer? I don't remember using the Driver installer when I did a first time install of PT9.
Pro Tools installs the HD drivers automatically. All other devices require that the driver be installed separately.

The HD driver is also available separately for those that want to use HD via Core Audio, but don't have Pro Tools installed or in situations where a driver install looks corrupted and they need to reinstall the driver, but don't have their Pro Tools installer handy.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-15-2011, 10:53 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,714
Default Re: PT 9.0.2 - WHAT on earth Happened here AVID!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Pro Tools installs the HD drivers automatically. All other devices require that the driver be installed separately.

The HD driver is also available separately for those that want to use HD via Core Audio, but don't have Pro Tools installed or in situations where a driver install looks corrupted and they need to reinstall the driver, but don't have their Pro Tools installer handy.
Got it, thanks DTS.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-15-2011, 10:56 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,794
Default Re: PT 9.0.2 - WHAT on earth Happened here AVID!!!

902 is good here so far.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where on earth do I buy ProTools HD? TheLunacyFringe Pro Tools 10 6 11-03-2011 02:27 AM
C|24 earth problem gilson ICON & C|24 1 06-18-2008 12:21 PM
No way on earth. the_dr38 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-17-2004 07:25 PM
what happened to Avid Mojo support nukepicnic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-20-2004 06:51 PM
What On Earth Is Going On With This? tomhartman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-23-2003 11:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com