Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2018, 05:00 AM
kikidi kikidi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: france
Posts: 3
Default Avid HDX latency PTHD vs other DAWs

Hello,

I'm a new hdx user, maybe you could help me.

Is it possible to have the same low latency for tracking in Logic (or whatever daw) as in PT HD ?

When I record in PT HD, this is perfect I cannot hear the latency. But in Logic, even if I put the lowest buffer, I can hear a little latency, as it was phasey.

I tried to put the lowest buffer inside Logic and also inside the avidaudioserver.app.

Moreover, the buffers change seems to be taken into account only in the avidaudioserver app and not when I change in Logic. Is it normal ?

Also, weird things : Some youtube videos or some wav files (not all) plays under 3/4 output instead of the 1/2 output when I play in firefox or quicktime player.
But when I play in google chrome or in old quicktime 7 player it works fine.

I'm really thinking of formatting and redo a fresh start with my mac :)

Thank in advance for your help !
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2018, 12:09 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,152
Default Re: Avid HDX latency PTHD vs other DAWs

No.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2018, 12:23 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,536
Default Re: Avid HDX latency PTHD vs other DAWs

^^^. And the reason why is Pro Tools is talking to the DSP based hardware mixer in HDX directly, and running DSP plugins there as well if wanted. Other DAWS only get to talk to the HDX hardware via CoreAudio or ASIO... which implicitly is going out through latency adding IO buffers to the DAW. And if plugins are wanted there they can't run those on the HDX DSP either.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2018, 12:44 PM
kikidi kikidi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: france
Posts: 3
Default Re: Avid HDX latency PTHD vs other DAWs

Awesome ! Thanks a lot for your replies.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latency with PTHD 12 abeardslee Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 01-04-2018 09:29 AM
midi latency PTHD 11 lampmusic macOS 1 05-22-2014 02:20 PM
HD Native and HDX Latency on other DAWs Fernando Ulibarri Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 02-25-2014 04:34 PM
Can Avid HEAT run in PTHD 10/11 without an Avid Audio Interface or HDX Card? hatepop Pro Tools 11 1 12-19-2013 02:26 AM
V 10 with PTHD and Avid Unity Wellnitz Post - Surround - Video 0 06-08-2004 03:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com