Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App

Old 01-04-2015, 05:33 PM

Default S3 only compatible with Maverick OSX

I have a problem I'm betting a few others have run into. I've been a Pro Tools user since 2007, and until now I've been on a Mac Pro (2007). However I recently purchased a new S3 Control Surface, which its system requirements call for Maverick OSX, and isn't supported on Yosemite OSX yet. So I realized I need to upgrade to a newer Mac Pro to run Maverick, my Mac Pro is too old. But unfortunately new and refurbished Macs come configured with Yosemite. I know many of you are thinking "no big deal, get a Maverick OSX installer disc and downgrade the system". I thought that as well. However after talking at length with Apple tech, it turns out that as of Maverick they no longer shipped install discs, you simply can't get one, not even from Apple. It's simple if the Mac you have came configured (back in 2013) with Maverick on units of the time. But if you buy a refurbished one today (even if its hardware date is from 2013) it will have Yosemite installed on it by Apple, so its useless to me. And they won't ship one configured with Maverick (why, don't ask, their just not helpful that way).

Anyone else boxed in by this one? I'm currently sitting on a brand new S3 Control Surface that is nothing more to me than a $5k door stop right now. What I'd really like to hear is that someone else ran into this and has a solution. If your solution is "wait till Avid supports Yosemite for the S3 firmware", not an option. This is a working studio and I can't 'afford' to wait for that eventuality.