Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2019, 08:32 AM
EdwardG's Avatar
EdwardG EdwardG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: UK/Finland/Spain
Posts: 95
Default Protools 12 and 2019.10 Co-installation.

Well title says very much it...

Pro tools .app has been renamed so it wont be replaced with the new one, is the 2019 installation doing much more than just replacing the app? does anybody know if there could be any incompatibility that would render pro tools 12 unusable? we are in mojave 5 by the way.



thanks in advance



UPDATE: (pun intended)
A AVID guy gave me the answer, yep pro tools installs more files elsewhere other than the .APP file, but in theory shouldn be a problem, and remembered me that old workspaces don't load in newer pro tools. all good, thanks!

Last edited by EdwardG; 11-29-2019 at 09:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2019, 02:34 AM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 604
Default Re: Protools 12 and 2019.10 Co-installation.

Hi
I always rename protools in finder manually befor install new versions so I do not erase the current installation. THat way I keep the last version runable on my computer.
A new version of Protools always also installs new versions of its plugins.
But I never hat problems running new versions in older protools versions.


Ale
__________________
3x PT HD Ultimate 2019.10 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.12.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2019.6 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002


www.tonstudio-gress.de

www.facebook.com/TonstudioGress
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2019, 05:31 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,882
Default Re: Protools 12 and 2019.10 Co-installation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ale View Post
Hi
I always rename protools in finder manually befor install new versions so I do not erase the current installation. THat way I keep the last version runable on my computer.
A new version of Protools always also installs new versions of its plugins.
But I never hat problems running new versions in older protools versions.


Ale
I've got 2019.6 and 2019.10 on my Mac. The only thing is if you open PT by clicking on a session .ptx file it will open whatever is the last PT version to be installed - at least it did here on OSX 10.13.6. Since I want to have sessions opened with PT 2019.6 I did a 'get info' on a session, changed the 'open with' to PT 2019.6 and clicked the little box that says to open all such files in my choice.

I don't know if you can do similar in Windows or not.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 2019.10 installation fail MacOS 10.13.6 bsteeve Pro Tools 2019 8 11-04-2019 06:38 AM
2019.10 installation error cmbourget Pro Tools 2019 9 10-31-2019 10:55 PM
2019.6 strange installation errors... WKG Pro Tools 2019 1 07-21-2019 06:59 AM
11R and ProTools 2019.5 jjnssn Eleven Rack 0 06-02-2019 08:18 PM
0 can`t right error since PT 2019 installation, Good Job Avid spock999 Pro Tools 2019 0 05-16-2019 12:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com