Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2011, 08:44 PM
crazyhorse crazyhorse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Simultaneous AES/ADAT/SPDIF on HD I/O Digital

Does anybody know whether the new AVID HD I/O 16x16 digital interface allows you to use different digital formats at the same time? I am guessing that you can have ONE OF 16 AES, TDIF, or ADAT, but the interface also has another digital I/O section on the base machine that provides an additional 2 spdif or 8 adat. Thus, I am guessing that you could, for example, use the 16 AES plus either of the 2 spdif or 8 adat - ie. you can run different digital formats across the two "cards", but can only use one format within each card. So in effect you can have as many as 24 digital I/O working simultaneously (eg. 16 AES plus 8 Adat; or 16 adat and 2 spdif)

I read the consolidated HD I/O guide on the avid site and it was somewhat confusing since it covers all three I/O versions at the same time.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2011, 03:22 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Simultaneous AES/ADAT/SPDIF on HD I/O Digital

Not only was the manual confusing, the email I got from Avid regarding this question wasn't much clearer...

From what I've been able to suss out, here's what it is...

You can only have 16 inputs and 16 outputs at a time.

These 16 inputs/outputs can be any combination of those on the input/output cards installed and the input/outputs built in to the "enclosure".

In other words, you can use any combination of the inputs/outputs on your unit, but only 16 inputs/outputs.

Again, this is just my understanding, but it is based on fairly decent information.

Now, if I can manage to explain it in a simple fashion why can't Avid?
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2011, 05:37 AM
the dude's Avatar
the dude the dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Burbank , Kalifornia, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: Simultaneous AES/ADAT/SPDIF on HD I/O Digital

digital outputs are all mirrored to the AES/TDIF/ADAT on the digital IO card
only the (ENC) outputs can be independent but again only one format is available

16 outs MAX !!!! but you can use use all outputs of AES/TDIF/ADAT simultaiuosly but all are mirrored AES chan 1, TDIF chan 1, and ADAT chan 1 will only output the same signal
__________________

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
http://www.studio-techservices.com

าำ
studio.tech@yahoo.comm
Mitch Berger Tech Services




We service ALL Avid products no Problem
HD192, 192, Omni, Control Surface, Pre, XMON, 192HD AD & DA / Accel Cards, Everything

ALL NEW HD192 AD -DA modification. the difference is incredible... no need to ship the entire unit , fast turn around

inquiry using link above
Repairs of SSL-Neve- Consoles and Repair ALL Modern & Vintage Gear
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2011, 09:33 PM
crazyhorse crazyhorse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: Simultaneous AES/ADAT/SPDIF on HD I/O Digital

Thanks guys. That is helpful. And it is actually good news for me, as the ability to mix i/o is more important that the total number of channels. cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2018, 03:24 AM
Firechild Firechild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 806
Default Re: Simultaneous AES/ADAT/SPDIF on HD I/O Digital

I would like to rephrase slightly...can you you use both AES/EBU enclosue and S/PDIF enclosure out simultaneously with the same signal, Pro Tools master Output? What is confusing is in the Hardware setup you have to choose Digital Format AES/EBU or S/PDIF (or Optical (S/SPDIF)?
__________________
HD3 PCIe, HD I/O , HD10.3.10, Mac Pro 6 core , 24 GB RAM , GTX285 , 10.8.5 , UAD-2 Quad Satellite , ATC SCM25A Pro with ADAM Sub 12.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2018, 09:18 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,153
Default Re: Simultaneous AES/ADAT/SPDIF on HD I/O Digital

Yes. You set to “digital output” and all outputs on the enclosure send parallel signals. The format is about the inputs (or in the case of optical s/pdif, to use that instead of adat standards)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 ADAT Optical & SPDIF inputs - simultaneous recording? ciacco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 19 03-28-2007 08:49 PM
Digital mixer pre's or 002R? SPDIF or ADAT I/O? j20056 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-14-2006 09:24 PM
possible simultaneous ADAT with 192 & 192 digital? Judson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-03-2004 03:41 PM
digital ins SPDIF and ADAT simultaneous locosoundman Tips & Tricks 2 04-25-2004 07:08 PM
ADAT to 4 SPDIF i/o's & digital inserts polchik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 11-18-2003 02:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com