Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 02-18-2016, 11:14 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,203
Default Re: Waves Abbey Road Plate Reverb Released

So you can put 10 of these in Reaper and play audio through them with only 12% CPU hit??
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 02-18-2016, 11:26 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Waves Abbey Road Plate Reverb Released

That seems really high.

Launched PTHD 12.4.0:
  • No insert: 0%
  • Click II: 1% total, 0% on all cores
  • Click II and Abbey Plate Mono: variable 14-18% total, 10-11% on Core 4
  • Click II and Abbey Plate Mono-to-stereo: variable 33-40% total, 22-24% on Core 4

Wow. That's a lot. Comparison:
  • Click II and Revibe Stereo: variable 13-16% total, 9% on Core 4
  • Click II and Reverberate 2 Stereo: 7% total, 4% on Core 4
  • Click II and TSAR1: 6% total, 4% on Core 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
So you can put 10 of these in Reaper and play audio through them with only 12% CPU hit??
It doesn't scale in a linear fashion. 1 mono instance uses 1.1%. 10 mono instances moved back and forth between 16-18% http://i.imgur.com/eskmyf4.png

Now part of this is the way PT measures CPU usage. How in the world is 0% on 7 threads and 9% on the one thread equal to 16% total? So again, fudge factor. Who knows how Reaper measures it. If we take the PT measurement for core 4 and distribute it, we're looking at what (in my mind) should be 3% "total" for one stereo instance. I find it hard to believe, no, I refuse to believe Reaper+VST64 is 15 times more efficient than PT+AAX64 in this regard.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB

Last edited by mesaone; 02-18-2016 at 11:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02-19-2016, 12:34 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,203
Default Re: Waves Abbey Road Plate Reverb Released

PT measures average + spikes

I don't know what other DAWs do.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02-19-2016, 09:36 AM
Andy Gone's Avatar
Andy Gone Andy Gone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Posts: 210
Default Re: Waves Abbey Road Plate Reverb Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
You guys... Sheesh... EU people first pay 8% customs and then 24% VAT on top of that. INCLUDING shipping costs if its a physical product. So a 100 dollar thing for you is a 134 dollar thing for me
OMG... it appears there is good part in not being in EU :)
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02-19-2016, 10:50 AM
denka's Avatar
denka denka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 577
Default Re: Waves Abbey Road Plate Reverb Released

When we buy through Waves store, Sweetwatter or AD, just to name a few, we don't pay any EU VAT for downloadable product, YET.
__________________
AVID HD Native PCIe + HD OMNI; Digidesign 192 I/O (2x) & 96 I/O; Icon QCON Pro & QCON EX; Softube Console 1; NI Kontrol 25; Arturia SparkLE; UAD-2 Satellite DUO; UAD-2 PCIe DUO; Tascam DA-3000; TK Audio BC1-S; Warm Audio WA76; SSL XLogic Alpha Channel (x2); SSL X-PATCH; Lindell Audio 6X-500, 7X-500 & PEX-500 (all x2), lots of TCE & Lexicon reverbs; VintageMaker LittleOne 16/2 Summing Mixer; MUTEC MC3+ SmartClock; Mac Pro (2009) 8 Core 2.26; 24 Gb RAM; Pro Tools HD 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 02-19-2016, 11:55 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,418
Default Re: Waves Abbey Road Plate Reverb Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Gone View Post
OMG... it appears there is good part in not being in EU :)

Yes. And if you ever come here don't get a speeding ticket...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 02-20-2016, 01:33 AM
pmcaster pmcaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Tudela/Spain
Posts: 28
Default Re: Waves Abbey Road Plate Reverb Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
You guys... Sheesh... EU people first pay 8% customs and then 24% VAT on top of that. INCLUDING shipping costs if its a physical product. So a 100 dollar thing for you is a 134 dollar thing for me
In case it may helps, bought at Audiodeluxe yesterday from Spain, no import duties....84$/78€.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02-20-2016, 05:54 AM
Neil H Neil H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: London UK
Posts: 193
Default Re: Waves Abbey Road Plate Reverb Released

Anyone looking for a discount code please let me know if this link does NOT give you a discount I'd like to know if its not working
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.5 Ultimate
Windows 10 Pro

Join the Facebook Pro Tools Windows User Group
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 02-20-2016, 06:00 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,886
Default Re: Waves Abbey Road Plate Reverb Released

In case anyone watching the various videos on this hasn't caught it this plugin is not true stereo. It really does emulate the real thing by summing the stereo input to mono, running through the plate and spitting it back out as 'stereo' (two channel).
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 02-20-2016, 06:02 AM
Neil H Neil H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: London UK
Posts: 193
Default Re: Waves Abbey Road Plate Reverb Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
In case anyone watching the various videos on this hasn't caught it this plugin is not true stereo. It really does emulate the real thing by summing the stereo input to mono, running through the plate and spitting it back out as 'stereo' (two channel).
So you didn't watch my video then? (the original first post).
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.5 Ultimate
Windows 10 Pro

Join the Facebook Pro Tools Windows User Group
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waves SSL4000, Abbey Road, & API Collections $450 maxgain Buy & Sell 0 04-13-2015 09:57 PM
Waves Abbey Road collection at Sweetwater for $349 nst7 AAX Plug-ins 0 08-27-2014 10:02 AM
New Tape Sim from Waves-Abbey Road J37 nst7 AAX Plug-ins 24 10-21-2013 08:07 PM
Waves/ Abbey Road REDD console plugin crizdee General Discussion 11 12-04-2012 05:42 AM
Waves announce partnership with Abbey Road Studios nst7 General Discussion 4 08-01-2011 08:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com