Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2015, 03:11 PM
goodhertz's Avatar
goodhertz goodhertz is offline
Goodhertz
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28
Default Goodhertz Good Dither — a world-class dither w/ simple controls



Good Dither is a great mastering dither that's very easy to work with. Set it on “Optimal,” and it will optimize the dither and noise shaping for any combination of bit depth and sample rate, or you can manually configure the dither amount and noise shaping to your liking.

FEATURES
  • Smooth, perceptually optimized noise shaping
  • Designed for all sample rates
  • Auto blanking when input is silent
  • Simple controls

Good Dither is available now for $19 — 64 bit AAX/AU (Mac)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2015, 09:25 PM
cjguitar cjguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Sunland, CA
Posts: 561
Default

Nice! Need a good dither for post. This should be built into Pro Tools and we shouldn't have to think about when/where we need dither…
__________________
Chris M. Jacobson, CAS
Re-recording Mixer, Sound Designer
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2015, 09:37 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,351
Default

How much latency?
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2015, 09:46 PM
cjguitar cjguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Sunland, CA
Posts: 561
Default

Just tried the trial, no latency, but it is native so you will run into buffer latency on HDX systems. Looking good so far, but haven't listened to anything.
__________________
Chris M. Jacobson, CAS
Re-recording Mixer, Sound Designer
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2015, 08:31 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,351
Default

That's way better than needing to use a limiter for 24 bit d*ther!

I sure wish there was a windows version.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-22-2015, 10:40 AM
goodhertz's Avatar
goodhertz goodhertz is offline
Goodhertz
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
That's way better than needing to use a limiter for 24 bit d*ther!

I sure wish there was a windows version.
Cheers, Bob!

We are considering Windows support in the future (we only launched our first plugin around 6 months ago) and are trying to gauge demand with a short format request survey: https://goodhertz.co/format-request
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-22-2015, 11:04 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default

I filled out the survey last week after hearing PanPot in action. I encourage other Windows users to do the same.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-22-2015, 11:41 PM
knothardly's Avatar
knothardly knothardly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: W.R., Georgia
Posts: 312
Default

i filled out too and signed up for the beta testing if they need it. cheers

p.s. added win32 bit also on my list although i don't use 32 bit... FL Studio wraps 32 plugs so it is possible to test them in that for 32bit VST users. :)
__________________
i have never taken pictures of people in the nude... i usually keep my clothes on

KNOT HARDLY PRODUCTIONS LLP*
Knot Hardly Esquire
Farcebook Twatter

_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/
Window$10 FX4300 MSI970A-G46 16Gb AMD7870
_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/

*a Limited Liability Persona
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-25-2015, 07:21 AM
denka's Avatar
denka denka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 577
Default

PanPot is fantastic, no doubt Good Dither is great plugin that will find a place in my plugin collection very soon.

EDIT: "soon" came sooner! Just bought it.
__________________
AVID HD Native PCIe + HD OMNI; Digidesign 192 I/O (2x) & 96 I/O; Icon QCON Pro & QCON EX; Softube Console 1; NI Kontrol 25; Arturia SparkLE; UAD-2 Satellite DUO; UAD-2 PCIe DUO; Tascam DA-3000; TK Audio BC1-S; Warm Audio WA76; SSL XLogic Alpha Channel (x2); SSL X-PATCH; Lindell Audio 6X-500, 7X-500 & PEX-500 (all x2), lots of TCE & Lexicon reverbs; VintageMaker LittleOne 16/2 Summing Mixer; MUTEC MC3+ SmartClock; Mac Pro (2009) 8 Core 2.26; 24 Gb RAM; Pro Tools HD 12.8

Last edited by denka; 05-25-2015 at 07:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-01-2015, 12:52 PM
Amack Amack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 846
Default

Is there something wrong with PT's default dither or its POW-r Dither Plug-In?

Quote:
Originally Posted by denka View Post
PanPot is fantastic, no doubt Good Dither is great plugin that will find a place in my plugin collection very soon.

EDIT: "soon" came sooner! Just bought it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Dither in Export Prefs be changed to PowR Dither Mr. Anxiety Tips & Tricks 5 10-31-2009 11:28 PM
Dither ... placement of the dither plugin. tpthai2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-12-2007 08:20 AM
DITHER Pow-r dither v.s. Apogee UV22 sukks2bu Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-13-2004 09:01 AM
difference between POWr DIther and Dither benjaminbarry 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-21-2004 04:38 PM
PT DITHER x masterist dither x TC masterxdither x l1, q10 dither Alécio Costa Tips & Tricks 9 02-24-2002 02:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com