Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2011, 01:34 PM
bsainted bsainted is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Watertown, MA
Posts: 5
Default Access Violation when Recording

I just got an M-Audio MobilePre and an M-Audio 49 Oxygen, and I'm using a MacBook Pro (OS X) w/ Pro Tools SE 8.0.3. Whenever I try to record an audio track using the keyboard, I hear the keyboard through the headphones, but hitting the record or play buttons on the transport draws up "access violation" or "Code/SE/AlturaPorts/PT4_App/Mdie/MacBuild/../Mdie_TrackPlayer.cpp" line 476. What to do, what to do?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2011, 08:08 AM
Avid Product Design Avid Product Design is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Posts: 105
Default Re: Access Violation when Recording

There are newer drivers available for download than those on the Pro Tools SE install DVD. Please download and install the latest driver for your audio device:

http://m-audio.com/index.php?do=support&tab=driver

Let us know if this fixes the issue that you are experiencing.

Tim A
__________________
Product Designer
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2011, 09:27 AM
bsainted bsainted is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Watertown, MA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Access Violation when Recording

Nope, Tim, it still isn't working even after installing that driver. What should I try next?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2011, 09:31 AM
Avid Product Design Avid Product Design is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Posts: 105
Default Re: Access Violation when Recording

Try creating a new admin user, logging in as that user and then running Pro Tools SE. This will help to narrow down the cause of the issue. Could you also post your full computer specifications from Apple Menu > About This Mac > More Info...

Thanks,
Tim A
__________________
Product Designer
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2011, 02:22 PM
bsainted bsainted is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Watertown, MA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Access Violation when Recording

Hey Tim,
I created another admin user and installed Pro Tools SE then the MobilePre then the Oxygen and it still gives me the same error message.

Here are the specs:

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro8,2
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 6 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Boot ROM Version: MBP81.0047.B04
SMC Version (system): 1.69f1
Serial Number (system): C17F86Y8DF8V
Hardware UUID: EA992CFF-82CE-56EF-9169-4DAD30D69100
Sudden Motion Sensor:
State: Enabled

And, it's the Oxygen 49 controller and 2nd gen MobilePre.

Thanks for helping.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2011, 06:08 AM
Avid Product Design Avid Product Design is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Posts: 105
Default Re: Access Violation when Recording

Thanks for the additional information. Could you possibly also confirm which point version of Mac OS X you are running (I assume 10.6.6). Can you also confirm that you have FileVault switched off.

Thanks,
Tim A
__________________
Product Designer
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2011, 07:09 AM
bsainted bsainted is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Watertown, MA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Access Violation when Recording

Yes on both counts: it is 10.6.6 and FileVault is turned off. I also start the Mac up with both the MobilePre and the Oxygen connected and turned on.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-17-2011, 02:32 AM
Avid Product Design Avid Product Design is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Posts: 105
Default Re: Access Violation when Recording

Thanks for clarifying. I have passed this information on - we will update you as soon as soons as we have more information as to possible causes.

Tim A
__________________
Product Designer
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-07-2011, 10:09 AM
FuzzyErThanThou FuzzyErThanThou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Default Re: Access Violation when Recording

I'm having a similar issue with my Producer USB;

I'll go to start recording and it'll give me the Access Violation and then, after i've clicked out of that and tried to start recording again i'll get a "cannot allocate memory" message.

Hardware Overview:

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro8,1
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 2.7 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 2
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 4 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-07-2011, 01:58 PM
Avid Product Design Avid Product Design is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Posts: 105
Default Re: Access Violation when Recording

The cause of the Access Violation issue experienced by users of recently introduced Mac models has now been identified. By default, these machines start up with Mac OS 10.6's 64-bit kernel as opposed to the 32-bit kernel used in the past.

The only workaround at this time is to start up with the 32-bit kernel.

For information on this please visit:
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3773

Thanks for providing information to help us to identify this issue.
__________________
Product Designer
Avid
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi Wait For Note Recording/access violation using markers dnkygirl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-26-2007 04:43 PM
error: "access violation occured" when recording wishesonaplane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-09-2006 09:06 AM
Access Violation gracepoint 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-09-2002 06:05 AM
access violation... Bob Mould 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 23 01-01-2002 10:38 AM
access violation/access is denied dj_czech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-02-2001 01:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com