Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #91  
Old 12-11-1999, 11:16 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Pro Tools Sound Quality???

Dave, in your original post you wrote a description of how to perform the AB test:

Here's a tip about how to set up a good A/B test:
1. Create multi-track mixes with different program material. (I say multi-track, because this is where people said they heard a difference most… with multiple tracks and gain changes.) To be as objective as possible, don't use any DSP Plug-Ins.
2. Bounce the mixes to 24-bit stereo files using the two different mixers.
3. Import the results (the two pairs of dual-mono files from the Mixer A and Mixer B bounces) into a new session. Line them up on two grouped track pairs.
4. Go to Preferences/Operations, and uncheck the option that is normally enabled for Solo buttons to "latch." This allows you to instantly switch between two mix stems using the solo buttons.
5. Listen back, and switch soloing between the pairs to try to I.D. any differences.
6. With your new "comparison" sessions, since you're not changing gain (setting faders at unity), there should be no difference between the two mixers… use either one to check the results.
7. Perform a blind-fold test: have someone switch the results without your seeing (or hearing) them switch. If you want it to be really honest, the operator will not even switch all the time, and certainly not when "cued" by you as the listener. This forces the listener to actually identify when and if the sound has changed. If you're not accurately identifying a difference greater than 50% of the time, you're statistically not hearing any difference. (I've been tripped up on this a few times… try it!)


However, because the new mixer always dithers, I think that before step 5 - the mixer should be changed back to the old original shipping 24 bit optimized mixer for a true valid comparison.

Thanks.

Rail

------------------
Recording Engineer
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
  #92  
Old 12-11-1999, 11:21 AM
Juicy Juicy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 42
Default Re: Pro Tools Sound Quality???

Unfortunately, the bulletin board software doesn't appear to support creating links to FTP sites. UBB Code appears to prepend "http://" to the beginning of the URL, no matter what. Take a look at the status bar in your browser when you mouse over the FTP link.

-B...
  #93  
Old 12-11-1999, 04:45 PM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: Pro Tools Sound Quality???

The epic instructions & then debates as to how to set up to judge the results are a little worrying.
Good luck to the remaining few propellerheads! Let us "ears only" folks know how you got on when you have a break from "the lab"!

Jules
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
  #94  
Old 12-13-1999, 10:26 PM
bcobin bcobin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: New York, NY, US
Posts: 8
Default Re: Pro Tools Sound Quality???

Just found out about this thread... Suffice it to say that I've done the mixer comparison on a full mix and the results are very revealing indeed...

There is no doubt in my mind which mixer I'll be using from now on... If you're mixing in PT, you want to try this...

-b

------------------


[This message has been edited by bcobin (edited December 13, 1999).]
  #95  
Old 12-14-1999, 01:06 PM
ProdInfo ProdInfo is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 338
Default Re: Pro Tools Sound Quality???

  #96  
Old 12-14-1999, 01:26 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Pro Tools Sound Quality???

Greetings!!!!

This thread has become rather large and our system has difficulty indexing it. So, I'm closing this thread here, but re-opening one called "Pro Tools Sound Quality (continued)???"

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.php?Number=29413

Please post under that new section. Thanks.

Webmaster
  #97  
Old 12-15-1999, 12:07 AM
Dave Lebolt Dave Lebolt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Posts: 60
Default Re: Pro Tools Sound Quality???

Folks,
If you're doing these tests, I have one more piece of information for you: I have just found out from the developing engineer that the dithering on the special mixer will only work on MIX cards. The amount of DSP required to do this on the older "vintage" DSP Farms makes it impractical to support. Just wanted to make sure you were all aware of this.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Sound Quality and Surround Tools Issues calokiersc Post - Surround - Video 2 07-05-2002 11:01 AM
N'th try: Pro Tools sound quality A.K.A [Benjamin] Tips & Tricks 19 05-27-2001 09:47 PM
Pro Tools Sound Quality (continued)??? Tips & Tricks 96 05-18-2001 07:16 PM
Time for Son of Pro Tools Sound Quality? Nick Batzdorf Tips & Tricks 3 12-14-1999 11:26 AM
Pro Tools vs Logic: Sound Quality Zep Dude Tips & Tricks 0 11-16-1999 07:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com