Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-07-2013, 04:57 PM
Scott Senchak Scott Senchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: Protools 11 Recording Timing

Yea, I remember reading about this problem before. Hopefully they can help us find a solution. Other than this problem PT11 is pretty great. So much more stable, quicker, and useful than previous versions.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-08-2013, 03:45 AM
alexmac010 alexmac010 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: London
Posts: 22
Default Re: Protools 11 Recording Timing

Is there anyone from Avid in this forum? I find it really frustrating that there's been no official response on this.

Just opened the same project on PT10.3.6 and it works as it should, audio prints where it should whether delay compensation is engaged or not.

I've done a quick test using different buffer sizes in PT11 and the audio moves further behind as the buffer increases by the following amounts.

32: 2358 samples
64: 2398 samples
128: 2438 samples
256: 2578 samples
512: 2826 samples
1024: 3322 samples

Is this a bug or am I doing something stupid?

FYI these figures were got by sending out a midi note at the start of the timeline to a synth (midi out from UCX, audio into UCX) and tab to transient to find the length of the delay in printing the audio.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-08-2013, 03:55 AM
alexmac010 alexmac010 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: London
Posts: 22
Default Re: Protools 11 Recording Timing

FYI doing the same test on the same project in PT10 results in a consistant delay of 300 samples +/- 20 (it's an analogue synth so a bit of variation is to be expected).

What is going on?!?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-08-2013, 04:26 AM
tj_davies tj_davies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,219
Default Re: Protools 11 Recording Timing

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexmac010 View Post
FYI doing the same test on the same project in PT10 results in a consistant delay of 300 samples +/- 20 (it's an analogue synth so a bit of variation is to be expected).

What is going on?!?
Just to lower the problem down. Does this also happen if you bounce down an audio beep, rather than a virtual instrument creating a sound?

Timothy
__________________
G5 10.8.5
PT 10.3.9 HD2
www.pearls-music.com
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-08-2013, 04:39 AM
alexmac010 alexmac010 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: London
Posts: 22
Default Re: Protools 11 Recording Timing

Quote:
Originally Posted by tj_davies View Post
Just to lower the problem down. Does this also happen if you bounce down an audio beep, rather than a virtual instrument creating a sound?

Timothy
More than happy to try but not sure what you mean exactly. Would you mind elaborating?

The main point is that for the way that I work (generally midi triggering analogue gear) what was working in PT10 is now behaving very strangely in PT11.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-08-2013, 04:46 AM
tj_davies tj_davies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,219
Default Re: Protools 11 Recording Timing

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexmac010 View Post
More than happy to try but not sure what you mean exactly. Would you mind elaborating?

The main point is that for the way that I work (generally midi triggering analogue gear) what was working in PT10 is now behaving very strangely in PT11.
Just wanted to help to check, whether it's a problem with VI not being in sync, or the plain audio either? Basically narrowing down where the error could be.

But then again, if it was just the VI, you'd generally have sync problems when working with both in one session.

Just forget my post. Sorry.

Timothy
__________________
G5 10.8.5
PT 10.3.9 HD2
www.pearls-music.com
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-08-2013, 05:06 AM
alexmac010 alexmac010 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: London
Posts: 22
Default Re: Protools 11 Recording Timing

Well I 'm not using any VIs anyway this is all audio from outside the computer.

Is anyone using 11.0.1, just wondering if this is a problem specific to 11.0.0.

Also is this seriously the only way to get in touch with Avid? We pay a lot of money for a professional piece of software but it seems the only support avenue is a user forum? Please correct me if I'm wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-08-2013, 05:16 AM
tj_davies tj_davies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,219
Default Re: Protools 11 Recording Timing

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexmac010 View Post
Well I 'm not using any VIs anyway this is all audio from outside the computer.

Is anyone using 11.0.1, just wondering if this is a problem specific to 11.0.0.

Also is this seriously the only way to get in touch with Avid? We pay a lot of money for a professional piece of software but it seems the only support avenue is a user forum? Please correct me if I'm wrong.
Is audio playing from inside Pro Tools in sync with the analog synth that you trigger via MIDI?
__________________
G5 10.8.5
PT 10.3.9 HD2
www.pearls-music.com
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-08-2013, 05:40 AM
alexmac010 alexmac010 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: London
Posts: 22
Default Re: Protools 11 Recording Timing

Quote:
Originally Posted by tj_davies View Post
Is audio playing from inside Pro Tools in sync with the analog synth that you trigger via MIDI?
Obviously that's dependant on the buffer size, but for example say I am working with a buffer of 32, while recording the synth sounds almost perfectly in time. However when I play back that recorded synth it sounds (& looks) late. In this instance, approx 2400 samples late.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-08-2013, 06:20 AM
tj_davies tj_davies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,219
Default Re: Protools 11 Recording Timing

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexmac010 View Post
Obviously that's dependant on the buffer size, but for example say I am working with a buffer of 32, while recording the synth sounds almost perfectly in time. However when I play back that recorded synth it sounds (& looks) late. In this instance, approx 2400 samples late.
Hmm, that's not what I meant.

If you have an audio track, for example a beep that plays every bar. Is that in time with your synth. Not after recording, just on playback?
__________________
G5 10.8.5
PT 10.3.9 HD2
www.pearls-music.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording timing / late recording issue resolved DAWgEAR Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 0 07-17-2013 10:10 AM
MP 9 Recording; Timing Issue.. alchemical.dream Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 05-02-2012 12:47 AM
Recording Timing Problem Jenre Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-02-2010 03:44 AM
Recording MIDI - Timing Off haashole 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-24-2007 07:52 AM
Recording Midi:Timing problems Gothboy Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 06-16-2006 08:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com