Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2016, 09:12 AM
cheney5 cheney5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: London
Posts: 36
Default Loudness Correction Feature Films For TV

Hi All,

I am wondering how everyone corrects feature films to fit UK broadcast loudness specs?

I am getting feature films and I need to control the LRA value to 15 or lower to meet my broadcasters tech spec. The overall loudness is easier to fix.

Im currently using a couple of Pro Limiters to even the mix out. We dont have master stems or the time to remix. So the Stereo Mix is compressed with a low threshold/low ratio, then into a higher threshold with heavier ratio.

This is takes some gentle tweaking and come wet/dry adjustment but we are so far passing QC.

Does this sound about right? I am mimic the AC3 algorithm in dolby boxes.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2016, 03:15 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 585
Default Re: Loudness Correction Feature Films For TV

You're probably doing fine.

Just watch out for pumping and the dreaded sucking up the atmos between dialogue lines. Ugh.

The best way is with stems, but its basically raising the dialogue and then
limiting to spec.

I've found the Nugen LM Correct gives a good result with the right settings and their dyn-apt plugin.

Its quite expensive, but if you're doing a lot of that type of stuff it might be worth a look.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.12.5, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.5, PT 2019.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2016, 03:22 AM
cheney5 cheney5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: London
Posts: 36
Default Re: Loudness Correction Feature Films For TV

Thanks for getting back to me.

I have Nugen LM Correct, but that didn't give me the ability to control the LRA.

Is there a setting I'm missing?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2016, 03:46 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,159
Default Re: Loudness Correction Feature Films For TV

LM Correct 2 - upgrade time!

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2016, 03:54 AM
cheney5 cheney5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: London
Posts: 36
Default Re: Loudness Correction Feature Films For TV

I have LM correct2 installed. But it doesn't have the LRA boxes.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2016, 03:59 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,159
Default Re: Loudness Correction Feature Films For TV

Ah, you need the dyn-apt extension, can't remember how much that costs!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-27-2016, 04:00 AM
cheney5 cheney5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: London
Posts: 36
Default Re: Loudness Correction Feature Films For TV

Oh I see. Cool. Only £129 for upgrade!

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-27-2016, 04:47 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,159
Default Re: Loudness Correction Feature Films For TV

I'd credit cheesehead, I'm in the midst of upgrading various plugins (before the Autumn rush!) and only just found all this out myself.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-27-2016, 05:32 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 585
Default Re: Loudness Correction Feature Films For TV

Cheers guys.

Yes its the Dyn apt that lets you set LRA and short term if you wish.

The dynamics algorithm is very transparent to my ears, you can demo it if you want to check out first. It sometimes does the odd weird thing that you have to correct, but pretty good for a set and forget.

Good for creating online versions too.

It'd be interesting to know what others think of how it sounds.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.12.5, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.5, PT 2019.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iZotope RX Loudness Control - Automatic Loudness Correction for Broadcast iZotopeInc AAX Plug-ins 0 05-21-2015 10:16 AM
S6 at Harbor Films NYC Tom Graham Pro Tools | S6 7 02-21-2015 10:14 AM
Audio in films PAA Pro Tools 10 5 09-10-2012 08:35 AM
CALM Acts Audio Loudness, Average Loudness, Program Loudness levels... help needed qr2r Post - Surround - Video 12 11-10-2011 01:41 AM
How to see 5.1 films through 003?? ArmanC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-27-2011 06:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com