Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-1999, 10:19 PM
KSutton KSutton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 136
Default recommended MIDI configuration

I am using OMS right now with a Studio4 Would I be better off with freemidi and some sort of MOTU usb interface, or the serial card for the G4 & my studio 4 that I have now?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-1999, 02:35 PM
Techsupt2 Techsupt2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 106
Default Re: recommended MIDI configuration

KSutton

What kind of G4 are you getting?

Brad

[This message has been edited by Techsupt2 (edited 12-10-99).]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-1999, 06:29 PM
KSutton KSutton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 136
Default Re: recommended MIDI configuration

Brad,

I was considering the 450, although I read on this bulletin board that there isn't that much of a performance boost for the 001 between the 400 & the 450. Any advice is welcome.

Karl
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-1999, 07:54 AM
KSutton KSutton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 136
Default Re: recommended MIDI configuration

I think this question might have been forgotten, anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-1999, 09:29 AM
Shaggy Dog Shaggy Dog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 46
Default Re: recommended MIDI configuration

I am using an Opcode (remember them) USB MIDI port 32 on a B+W G3. After my dual serial port Studio 3 days, it gave MIDI a new lease on life.

I think USB is the way to go. You can still get the 32 at some stores and downloads (USB extension) from Opcode's website.

(With OMS they work fine with Cubase VST 4.0 and DSP 4.2 + and I am surmising PT 5LE)

...still waiting for my 001
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-1999, 11:04 PM
KSutton KSutton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 136
Default Re: recommended MIDI configuration

thanks for the reply shaggy dog
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-20-1999, 10:19 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: recommended MIDI configuration

I'm using the MOTU MTP A/V (USB version with the Digi001 on a G4. You load OMS first, then load Freemidi. Freemidi then goes into OMS-emulation mode. Works just fine. I even have the MTP on a 4-port USB hub (although MOTU recommends against this). That particular bus only has my keyboard and mouse on it, however. The other bus is for the Waves dongle with the Imate USB to ADB converter.


------------------
Larry W.
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommended Midi Interface for PT9 timecode Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 4 05-05-2011 10:26 AM
Recommended MIDI interface primafacie MIDI 5 12-09-2003 01:47 PM
midi/oms/001/mac configuration? gino123 MIDI 1 05-04-2001 09:27 PM
MIDI-Configuration giotom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-23-2000 04:10 PM
Midi Configuration Brahmb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-09-2000 11:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com