Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2009, 11:20 AM
glankrudolph glankrudolph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Astoria, NY
Posts: 60
Default Mbox2Pro compatibility? MacBook Pro?

Is the MBox2pro with ProTools LE 7.4 compatible with a MacBook Pro running OS 10.5?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2009, 11:24 AM
Muzick Muzick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Mbox2Pro compatibility? MacBook Pro?

I have recently purchased a Macbook Pro 10.5.5 and have been using it quite successfully with a Mbox 2 Pro.
Started with PT LE 7.4 and upgraded to 8.0 with no problem.

I recommend am expresscard with additional FW400 ports. Run the audio hard drive from that and get a FW800 to FW400 adapter and run the Mbox 2 Pro off the Macbook Pro FW800 port.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2009, 02:22 PM
temujin temujin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Posts: 30
Default Re: Mbox2Pro compatibility? MacBook Pro?

Same here and all is working great so far but as I'm quite a nubie I haven't done much advanced or big projects yet... but it certainly does work

At the moment I've recorded to the system drive because I'm still waiting for my expresscard but I couldn't wait to do music! It didn't work when it was daisy chained: mbox2pro connected to ext hd then into MBP but it does work if its: ext hd then mbox2pro then MBP... but I know this is not the optimum configuration. Expresscard is probably the best way to go...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2009, 02:35 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,798
Default Re: Mbox2Pro compatibility? MacBook Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by glankrudolph View Post
Is the MBox2pro with ProTools LE 7.4 compatible with a MacBook Pro running OS 10.5?
Unless I'm mistaken, OSX 10.5 (Leopard) requires Protools 7.4.2 and not Protools 7.4
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:37 PM
Muzick Muzick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Mbox2Pro compatibility? MacBook Pro?

AH, good eyes Obsidian.

I should correct my above statement that I did go from 7.4.2 to 8.0 on the Macbook Pro.
I dont know about 7.4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2009, 08:42 AM
glankrudolph glankrudolph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Astoria, NY
Posts: 60
Default Re: Mbox2Pro compatibility? MacBook Pro?

Great - thanks for the help - time to max out another credit card! :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pt 8 le and mbox2pro compatibility hardware abikambic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-25-2010 07:03 PM
Macbook not always recognizing mbox2pro? volkgti90 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-19-2009 06:52 PM
laptop compatibility with mbox2pro le ranas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 10-13-2009 12:39 PM
MBOX2PRO and MACBOOK 2.4Ghz 13,3" compatibility akli 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-18-2008 06:08 AM
Plug-ins, MacBook and Mbox2PRO Hemluth General Discussion 2 05-31-2008 04:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com