Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2008, 03:47 PM
Jenk2k Jenk2k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 468
Default using MIDI interface on 002 to control a Line6 Vetta by midi

Anybody have any luck controlling a line6 vetta through the 002's midi ports, while working on a session? I can do it just fine without pro tools open but when i go to launch pro tools it says "hardware in use." If I try to connect to vetta with pro tools open, monkey and line6 edit don't recognize vetta. Any ideas?

Yes I realize that digi doesn't support Line6. I'm just looking for some friendly advice froms someone who may have tried it. My goal is to tweak patches from the control room without running a 30 ft speaker cable to the vetta in the iso booth.

I do have a midisport uno 1x1 USB audio interface that has worked wonderfully before, but it obviously won't reach 30 ft. I have 30 ft midi cables and could go buy couplers and just use the USB interface but I would prefer to consider this a last resort (simplest solution first...)

Thanks! EJ
__________________
We don't have the user centricity. Until we understand context, which is way beyond presence — presence is the most trivial notion, just am I on this device or not; it doesn't say am I meeting with something, am I focused on writing something. [LIST][*]Bill Gates .NET Briefing Day Speech (24 July 2002)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2008, 10:54 AM
timothyd4y timothyd4y is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 124
Default Re: using MIDI interface on 002 to control a Line6 Vetta by

I think you will need the second interface to pull this off. ProTools is taking over the ports on the 002.

While I haven't tried this exactly with the Vetta control software, I have had good luck with Cat5 to USB extensions to extend USB connections. The CAT5 Cable can be 150' long and discreetly tucked away. I got one on ebay for $19 and another from TigerDirect for $30. Both worked like a charm. You could use it to extend the midisport and dedicate it to the Vetta software. Should be good to go, though ProTools may take over both interfaces connected to the same computer. Hmmmm.
__________________
Timothy Day
Audio Post

Center City Film and Video

www.CCFV.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2008, 05:46 PM
Jenk2k Jenk2k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 468
Default Re: using MIDI interface on 002 to control a Line6 Vetta by

I appreciate your response. that's actually a really good idea. I worried that USB extensions would flake out and cause a weird connection problem.

I ended up going USB midisport uno -> coupler -> 30 ft midi cable -> vetta.

Sucks. I thought for sure that the 002 would let me use the midi ports as a normal interface. It does...just only when Pro tools isn't open =(
__________________
We don't have the user centricity. Until we understand context, which is way beyond presence — presence is the most trivial notion, just am I on this device or not; it doesn't say am I meeting with something, am I focused on writing something. [LIST][*]Bill Gates .NET Briefing Day Speech (24 July 2002)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up a USB/Midi Controller while using a tascam audio/midi interface disabledpro001 macOS 5 03-30-2012 07:06 AM
Line6 Vetta vs Eleven protonneutron Virtual Instruments 0 11-13-2007 04:45 PM
mbox 2 to vetta 2 (line6) via midi devon502 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-28-2007 10:30 AM
Control surface - MIDI interface Freakybeatz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-25-2004 04:28 PM
3rd Party MIDI Interface/PTLE MIDI Survey Numachida 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 12-13-2002 02:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com