Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2007, 06:13 PM
DEXTERITY DEXTERITY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 50
Default Help With Initial Set Up of MAC PRO

Greetings,

Apple is sending me a 2.66mhz Mac Pro to replace the G5 Powermac they destroyed. I would greatly appreciate any help with the initial set up of the computer and pro tools. I am using Pro Tools 7.1 LE (or whatever version works, computer will be here Monday). I have 2 gb of Ram and 2 Internal Hard Drives.

I heard that the Digi 002 will only work plugged into the back firewire port? I know with my Power Mac G5 it only worked when plugged into the front. Is this true?

Also, any iniital settings (pro tool preferences, hardware, buffer, etc) or anything I need to be aware of would be greatly appreciated. I tried to search for Mac Pro but not much came up related to the initial set up and making sure everything runs smooth with Pro Tools.

i'm assuming it is shipping with 10.4.9 so I am going to downgrade it to 10.4.8 which is qualified (if I remember correctly).


thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2007, 06:42 PM
wcody wcody is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Metro Denver Area, CO
Posts: 266
Default Re: Help With Initial Set Up of MAC PRO

Don't worry about downgrading to 10.4.8. Get yourself a copy of Applejack here and run it in "auto pilot" after installing Pro Tools.

If then it doesn't work, consider doing an OS update reinstall up to 10.4.8, and then again re-install PT LE. Good luck!
__________________
Cody Cabaña Productions
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2007, 06:55 PM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,236
Default Re: Help With Initial Set Up of MAC PRO

You're probably right, it will more than likely have 10.4.9 on it from the factory. a lot of people are using 10.4.9 so you might try it and see if it works before you automatically downgrade.

They main thing to make absolutely sure of is that you don't try to install anything Pro Tools related that is not a universal binary. Some other programs will work, but Pro Tools and all its plugins are a huge concern. I originally copied my plugin folder to my new mac and had crash after crash (also a lot of plugs that were in the folder, but didn't show up in PT). After I realized the error of my moment of stupidity and actually installed things correctly, it was great. The worst part of it is that I knew going into it I couldn't do that, I just got in the heat of the moment and forgot.

Everything else is pretty standard. If you're already a Mac guy (which you are) make sure you repair your disk permissions regularly. Your pro tools prefs are going to be the standard set from the installation (depending of course on the options you choose...midi, audio, surround, stereo mixing).

they are awesome computers. I've not had any problems with mine. I've finally found a computer that can keep up with me and I can't out-edit.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2018.7
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2007, 06:59 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Help With Initial Set Up of MAC PRO

From the Getting Started Guide and on-line searches:

Macintosh System Optimization
To ensure optimum performance with
Pro Tools LE, configure your computer before
installing Pro Tools software.
Before configuring your computer, make sure
you are logged in as an Administrator for the ac-
count where you want to install Pro Tools. For
details on Administrator privileges in Mac OS X,
refer to your Apple OS X documentation.

Do not use the Mac OS X automatic Soft-
ware Update feature, as it may upgrade
your system to a version of Mac OS that has
not yet been qualified for Pro Tools.
For details on qualified versions of Mac OS,
refer to the latest compatibility information
on the Digidesign Web site
(www.digidesign.com/compato).


Turning Off Software Update
To turn off the Software Update feature:
1 Choose System Preferences from the Apple
menu and click Software Update.
2 Click Update Software and deselect Check for
Updates.
Turning Off Energy Saver
To turn off the Energy Saver feature:
1 Choose System Preferences from the Apple
menu and click Energy Saver.
2 Click Sleep and do the following:
• Set the computer sleep setting to Never.
• Set the display sleep setting to Never.
• Deselect “Put the hard disk(s) to sleep
when possible” option.
Disabling Spotlight Indexing
The Mac OS X Spotlight feature indexes files and
folders in the background, affecting system per-
formance. It is recommended that you disable
Spotlight indexing before using Pro Tools.


To disable Spotlight indexing:
1 Choose System Preferences from the Apple
menu and click Spotlight.
2 In the Spotlight window, click Privacy.
3 To prevent indexing of a drive, drag its icon
from the desktop into the list.
Disabling the Spotlight Shortcuts
The Mac OS X Spotlight feature uses the same
key commands Pro Tools uses to start recording
(Command+Spacebar), and to record online
(Command+Option+Spacebar). If you want to
retain use of these key commands in Pro Tools,
these shortcuts must be disabled.
To disable the Spotlight keyboard shortcut:
1 Choose System Preferences from the Apple
menu and click Spotlight.
2 Deselect “Spotlight menu keyboard shortcut”
and “Spotlight window keyboard shortcut.”
Disabling the Dashboard Shortcut
The Mac OS X Dashboard feature uses the same
key command Pro Tools uses to start recording
(F12). If you want to retain use of this key com-
mand in Pro Tools, this shortcut must be dis-
abled.
To disable the Dashboard keyboard shortcut:
1 Choose System Preferences from the Apple
menu and click Dashboard and Exposé.
2 Set the Dashboard keyboard shortcut to “–” to
disable the shortcut.


Installing Pro Tools LE
After the Apple System software settings are con-
figured, you are ready to install Pro Tools LE.
To install Pro Tools LE:
1 Make sure you are logged in as an Administra-
tor for the account where you want to install
Pro Tools. For details on Administrator privi-
leges in Mac OS X, refer to your Apple Mac OS X
documentation.
2 Insert the Pro Tools LE Installer CD in your
CD-ROM drive. Double-click “Install
Pro Tools LE.”
3 Enter your Administrator password and click
OK to authenticate the installation.
4 Follow the on-screen instructions to continue
and accept installation.
5 In the Installer window, make sure the Install
Location is on your Startup drive.
6 In the Installer window, choose Custom In-
stall from the pop-up menu, and click Install.
7 Follow the remaining on-screen instructions
to install Pro Tools and any options. (See also
“Optional Software on the Pro Tools Installer
CD” on page 20.

You need at least 7.1.1 for the Mac Pro. The Intel software.

The Apple Mac Pro desktop requires Pro Tools LE 7.1.1 for Digi 002, Digi 002 Rack, Mbox 2, Mbox 2 Mini, and original Mbox systems, a free update for Pro Tools LE 7.0/7.1 owners.

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...4&itemid=23375

System Software
Pro Tools LE 7.1.1 for Digi 002, Digi 002 Rack, Mbox 2, Mbox 2 Mini, and Mbox systems is officially supported on Mac OS X 10.4.6, 10.4.7, and 10.4.8 for Intel-based Macs
Mac OS X 10.4.7 or higher required for Mac Pro (included with Mac Pro system software)
Pro Tools LE 7.1.1 will NOT install on a PowerPC-based Mac
Installation Requirements
DVD drive required for Pro Tools LE 7.1.3 Installation DVD for Mbox 2 Pro systems
CD drive required for Pro Tools LE 7.1.1 Installation CD for Digi 002, Digi 002 Rack, Mbox 2, Mbox 2 Mini, and Mbox systems (not required if installing from Pro Tools LE 7.1.1 web installer)
Total System RAM
512 MB minimum required* for Pro Tools LE 7.1.1 (Digi 002, 002 Rack, Mbox 2, Mbox 2 Mini, Mbox) - More Recommended
More RAM increases overall system and Pro Tools performance
More RAM suggested for sessions with high edit density, extensive use of plug-ins, or simultaneous use with MIDI sequencers
Maximum Performance Guidelines

Recording to the system startup drive is not recommended or supported
Although limited recording and playback of audio tracks may be possible using the internal startup drive, a separate external dedicated audio hard drive (or multiple drives) is highly recommended for maximum performance and track count.
2 internal SATA drives, 2 SCSI drives, or 2 external FireWire audio drives dedicated for record and playback are required to achieve maximum track count with Music Production Toolkit or DV Toolkit
Pro Tools Does Not Support Sleep Mode
In the Macintosh System Preferences, launch Energy Saver, click the Sleep tab, and disable all Sleep features. Set "Put the computer to sleep when it is inactive" to Never. Do not manually put your computer to sleep when running Pro Tools.

Either FW port should work fine.

Do not downgrade. Some computers do not like running softer older than they are. Follow the troubleshooting guide on the DUC.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2007, 02:19 PM
DEXTERITY DEXTERITY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 50
Default Re: Help With Initial Set Up of MAC PRO

Thanks for the replies and help, i really appreciate it. I knew about the info which was posted on the site regarding spotlight, bluetooth, etc, but I wasn't sure if there was anything different about the mac pro and pro tools compared to the g5 powermac.

thanks for the info on the plug ins, I didn't even think about that. everything that the actual pro tools install comes with is univerisal binary correct?

Should only use the firewire port on the back for the digi 002? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2007, 04:03 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Help With Initial Set Up of MAC PRO

Just make sure you do have the correct versions of the plugs. Many problems if you don't. Check the compatibility grid to be sure.

I haven't heard that the location of the FW ports will matter with the new Macs,
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-2007, 01:14 PM
DEXTERITY DEXTERITY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 50
Default Re: Help With Initial Set Up of MAC PRO

ok, thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Initial Startup S.TaylorRCC Windows 2 08-01-2011 08:27 PM
Initial Thoughts Karl Houseknecht Eleven Rack 11 04-27-2011 06:29 PM
Besides the initial problems-PT8 VRW12 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-21-2009 11:41 AM
Initial PT questions manyrains 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-20-2009 07:24 PM
initial m box installation terguth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-08-2005 02:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com