Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2006, 03:47 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default 7.2 crashes constantly

Pro Tools is crashing every five minutes. It started on todays session where I got a 10 second swod, and then an unexpected quit. Strangely enough, it happens almost every time I try to select an alternate playlist on an Instrument track. But also any time during any task it seems.
This is what I've tried so far:

1)Delete DAE prefs folder

2)Delete Volumes folder

3)Delete com.digidesign.protoolsHD.plist

4)Delete DigiSetup.OSX

5)Delete Pro Tools 7.2 preferences

6)Delete Digidesign databases on all mounted drives

7)Empty trash, and restart the computer

8)Repair permissions

9)Uninstall Pro Tools (clean option)

10)Install Pro Tools

Now I've started the Apple hardware test. Turned on looping, and selected the extended test option. It will run over night now. If the test doesn't show anything I don't know what to do next. Can you think of anything?

When I think about it, I didn't try importing tracks into a new session...maybe I should try that if the hardware test comes out clean?

Any help appreciated...highly.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2006, 05:11 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,572
Default Re: 7.2 crashes constantly

Quote:
When I think about it, I didn't try importing tracks into a new session
first thing to try!!! you have just experienced your first session corruption.

Let is know if this isn't so.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2006, 05:48 PM
ProTooler ProTooler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: East Coast
Posts: 381
Default Re: 7.2 crashes constantly

I recently had a similar problem and it turned out to be a bad dsp chip on my core card. Digitest passed all cards, but I kept getting a swod along w/ some errors (7401 I think). The trouble shooting led to pre-allocating chips of my core card and opening a session. When I figured out that the session would open without using the 4th chip on the core card, I knew I had a bad chip. Hopefully this isn't your problem, and I don't say this to scare you that your core card is bad, only to illustrate my problem and suggest you try opening the session after allocating different chips from your system usage window. Hopefully all of your chips are good.
Good luck.
__________________
Have a great day.....
Bill
----------------------
Mac Mini (2019)
3.2 Ghz - 6 Core i7
Mojave with 64 GB RAM
PT Ultimate (2019.10)
Motu 16a
C/24 Control Surface
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2006, 06:46 PM
PhilBuckle PhilBuckle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 725
Default Re: 7.2 crashes constantly

I can't help you at all but thought I'd let you know that I was having a 100% repeatable crash in 7.2 by changing the playlist on a midi track!!

I did this 3 times in a row before I shut down the machine and rebooted. Everything returned to normal and I have not seen that problem again.
Strange indeed. But not as nasty as your problem.
__________________
G5 Dual 2.7 OS 10.5.6 HD Accel 2 192+96 I/O
http://philbuckle.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-21-2006, 09:57 PM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,379
Default Re: 7.2 crashes constantly

Here 7.2 crashes every time I close the application.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2006, 02:29 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,572
Default Re: 7.2 crashes constantly

Quote:
Here 7.2 crashes every time I close the application.
Hi,

Do you have a rewire app running?
Do you have Xpand version 1 in your plugs folder?
does the crash log indicate the cause? it would show which thread had crashed!!

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-22-2006, 07:19 AM
songman songman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 691
Default Re: 7.2 crashes constantly

Quote:


Do you have Xpand version 1 in your plugs folder?
does the crash log indicate the cause? it would show which thread had crashed!!

Chris
Chris, do you mean to say that a higher version of Xpand has solved this problem? I have 1.0.1.989 and have refrained from using it because I thought this problem still was not fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-22-2006, 08:07 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,379
Default Re: 7.2 crashes constantly

Quote:
Do you have a rewire app running?
Do you have Xpand version 1 in your plugs folder?
does the crash log indicate the cause? it would show which thread had crashed!!

Hi Chris,

I am using Soundminer as rewire application, but it's closed when I try to close Pro Tools. Where crash log is located? Please educate me.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-22-2006, 09:03 AM
Scott Goldberg Scott Goldberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SF Bay Area USA
Posts: 1,066
Default Re: 7.2 crashes constantly

Quote:
Quote:
When I think about it, I didn't try importing tracks into a new session
first thing to try!!! you have just experienced your first session corruption.

Let is know if this isn't so.

Chris
Stig,

Did Chris beat me to it? I replied to you this morning on your personal mail. Jeez! That "Chris" guy! Always beats me to the punch! I hope he was right buddy!
__________________
Scott Goldberg
Gold Recordings
http://www.goldrecordings.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-22-2006, 09:25 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,572
Default Re: 7.2 crashes constantly

Quote:
Chris, do you mean to say that a higher version of Xpand has solved this problem? I have 1.0.1.989 and have refrained from using it because I thought this problem still was not fixed.
Hi,

Xpand version 1 was known to cause this problem of PT quitting when closing the application!

If you haven't updated to version 1.0.1 then do so now.

Chris

Quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Hi Chris,

I am using Soundminer as rewire application, but it's closed when I try to close Pro Tools. Where crash log is located? Please educate me.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi, the crash logs are in Mackintosh HD/users/your name/library/logs/crash reporter/pro tools.

it should indicate which thread caused the quid and there might be something listed to show what the cause was.

Chris

Quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stig,

Did Chris beat me to it? I replied to you this morning on your personal mail. Jeez! That "Chris" guy! Always beats me to the punch! I hope he was right buddy!

--------------------
Gold Recordings

whilst you were still eating your waffles and maple syrup! i had already done my 20 mile run and answered 20 posts on the DUC

C
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 9.0.5 crashes constantly... smoramarco macOS 5 10-09-2011 08:23 AM
Fresh Install of 7.4.2 Crashes Constantly aermotor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-22-2010 05:58 PM
Everything crashes constantly! thenorb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-17-2009 12:28 AM
Pro Tools 7.4.2 Crashes Constantly mikesmovielife Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 04-30-2009 02:21 PM
PT5 crashes constantly on MDD G4. Please Help! motord 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-28-2006 01:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com