Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-18-2018, 06:36 PM
jutaylorsound jutaylorsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 2
Default Digi 003 support with PT 12.7.1?

Hi

New to this but I'm using a Digi 003 rack and having problems with PT 12.8.2. Avid told me to downgrade to 12.7.1 as it's only supported up to this version which I did. Same problems persist ie running out of CPU power really easily. Avid then said actually 003 is not supported at all so can no longer help me.

Anyone using 003 rack and 12.7.1? I am particularly having trouble with UVI workstation eating up CPU (one instrument using 100%).

MacPro mid 2010 OS 10.12.6 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon

Thanks
__________________
Julian Taylor
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2018, 08:04 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 496
Default Re: Digi 003 support with PT 12.7.1?

Please don't let my MP 5,1, 003R, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.4 system hear about this. You know, the one I work on most days. I don't want it to get any ideas about not working.

Have you done all of the compatibility steps as outlined in Help Us Help You above?

Have you tried turning off hyper threading?

You're not recording to the system drive, right?

Have you contacted UVI?

You know that VI usage in PT is not... perfect, yes?
__________________
Bob
"Without a song,
The day would never end..."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2018, 04:33 AM
jutaylorsound jutaylorsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 2
Default Re: Digi 003 support with PT 12.7.1?

Hi Bob

Thanks for your reply. Good to know that the 003 is still going strong for you! It seems after a few more tests and a chat with Avid support that UVI is the main culprit and yes I've left them (UVI) a message about this.
I'm using a dedicated audio drive but I don't know anything about hyper threading.
Avid only agreed to help me because I said it had the same problem with the in built audio.

So you have not experienced any CPU issues with your 003 and latest PT?
__________________
Julian Taylor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2018, 01:21 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 496
Default Re: Digi 003 support with PT 12.7.1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jutaylorsound View Post
<snip>

So you have not experienced any CPU issues with your 003 and latest PT?
I wouldn't say "any". I would say few, especially since turning off hyper threading. I use CPU Setter to turnoff hyper threading when doing more intensive sessions.

Generally, I don't believe the interface has as much bearing on CPU as the DAW software or the particular plugs loaded on the system. Remember that plugs don't have to be instantiated to impact the system's performance.

To be fair, my MP has three times as many cores as yours, and they're slightly faster. Your mileage will vary.
__________________
Bob
"Without a song,
The day would never end..."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2018, 02:48 PM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 589
Default Re: Digi 003 support with PT 12.7.1?

I'm running an 002 rack with PT 2018.4. No problems at all.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 GPU --3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 750ti - 2 x Internal WD Blacks + MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 15.2.1 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIGI support where are you?? DCommand Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 03-18-2009 07:00 PM
Digi support please help.. Fullsound Recording Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 02-03-2009 10:17 AM
Dear Digi support for 5.1 on digi hardware please player Post - Surround - Video 1 05-03-2005 03:37 PM
help digi support !! AM III !! tworooms 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-06-2002 01:11 AM
Digi support, I need you... zboy2854 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 01-28-2002 10:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com