Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2015, 08:49 AM
Adam Christopher Adam Christopher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 51
Default System ID / Update

Hi All,

I've been on PT9 for about four years and would like to update to the most current version. I went onto avid.com/us/account/orientation and logged on. I then went to click what I needed to update and was asked to enter a system ID. I found my original box that had stickers on the outside and also two yellow cards with numbers and letters but nothing worked.

I called Avid but couldn't get through to anyone without a system ID. There's an option to purchase one-time Avid support but I don't know which card, ( the one's listed here: https://shop.avid.com/ccrz__Products...State=ListView ), would work.

Any thoughts or instructions would be super-duper appreciated.

All the best,
Adam
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2015, 01:16 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,057
Default Re: System ID / Update

PT doesn't use a system ID; Media Composer does though.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2015, 01:37 PM
Adam Christopher Adam Christopher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 51
Default Re: System ID / Update

Hi Jack,

Thanks for the reply. Could you tell me what I might have been doing wrong? I was my account page at Avid.com when I got the request to enter my system ID. I still can't figure out how to simply update my PT from PT9.

Best regards,
Adam
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2015, 04:49 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,407
Default Re: System ID / Update

With the new licensing system we do have System ID's now for Pro Tools. I don't think they are in use yet for authorizing, but you do need them to contact support through your support plan.

As you can see in this screen shot of my Avid Account (hope I blurred out everything I needed too, don't steal my stuff if I didn't )

Click image for larger version

Name:	PT system ID.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	40.8 KB
ID:	3855

BUT since you still have PT9 you wouldn't have a system ID..... Is there no other way to contact them? This should be a free phone call...

I can check with someone who knows.
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2018
Youtube Channel - BenoniStudio
Free Eleven Rack Tutorials, Rigs, and more
@BenoniStudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2015, 05:46 PM
Adam Christopher Adam Christopher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 51
Default Re: System ID / Update

Hi Brian,

That's remarkably helpful, thanks! And thanks for the screen-grab, (I wouldn't dare try to steal anything!).

If I can push my luck, I'll take you up on your offer to check with someone. I've researched; haven't found any alternative contact.

Thanks again and best regards,

Adam
adam@beatnik.cc
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2015, 05:51 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,407
Default Re: System ID / Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Christopher View Post
Hi Brian,

That's remarkably helpful, thanks! And thanks for the screen-grab, (I wouldn't dare try to steal anything!).

If I can push my luck, I'll take you up on your offer to check with someone. I've researched; haven't found any alternative contact.

Thanks again and best regards,

Adam
adam@beatnik.cc
Already requested a SuperMod to take a look, he's busy, so hang tight
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2018
Youtube Channel - BenoniStudio
Free Eleven Rack Tutorials, Rigs, and more
@BenoniStudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2015, 05:53 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,407
Default Re: System ID / Update

Just wondering, how are you trying to update PT9?

Have you already purchased your Support and Upgrade Plan for $199 from the Avid store or anywhere else like Sweetwater, GuitarCenter, ect...?
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2018
Youtube Channel - BenoniStudio
Free Eleven Rack Tutorials, Rigs, and more
@BenoniStudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2015, 06:33 PM
Adam Christopher Adam Christopher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 51
Default Re: System ID / Update

Hi Brian,

At first I was following a link that was suggested to me from an earlier post, ( https://www.avid.com/US/account/orientation ). That's where I got the request to enter the system ID.

If a purchase is necessary that's totally fine, the process is just a bit confounding

Look forward to your advice and thanks again,
Adam
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-2015, 06:51 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,407
Default Re: System ID / Update

I guess we need to establish what exactly you want to update. Are you looking for the latest version of Pro Tools 9? Or are you looking to upgrade to Pro Tools 12?
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2018
Youtube Channel - BenoniStudio
Free Eleven Rack Tutorials, Rigs, and more
@BenoniStudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-02-2015, 07:05 PM
Adam Christopher Adam Christopher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 51
Default Re: System ID / Update

Hey,

Hope I wasn't being too vague. I want to update to PT12 if it's ready. Otherwise the most current version of PT.

I'm rather remedial with some Pro Tools fundamentals so I really appreciate the attention!

Best,
Adam
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice: looking to update system Serip General Discussion 3 11-17-2011 10:58 AM
10.5.6 update. Is it safe to apply the system update from 10.5.5? SBCCMusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 02-02-2009 02:27 AM
Need To Update My System... jumpnblues 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-14-2007 04:43 PM
System Update Q Joel Cage Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-23-2005 06:39 AM
system software update? amateur tool 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-12-2001 10:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com