Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2008, 01:06 PM
teacherman teacherman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 409
Default Your success with Native Instruments softsynths

This post is for anyone using Native Instruments softsynths within ProTools 7.3.1 and/or 7.4.

Pros/Cons/Advice?


Thanks
__________________
MacBookPro 2.2 Ghz Intel Core i7; 16 Gig Ram; OSX 10.12.6; ProTools 10.3.9; Protools 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2008, 06:12 PM
queenstonmusic queenstonmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: Your success with Native Instruments softsynths

which ones are you interested in?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2008, 12:53 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Your success with Native Instruments softsynths

Success? As in do I like them, or are they stable? I use B4 a lot, always works good for me. Akoustik Piano gets its fair share as well. Some say they have trouble with NI in Pro Tools, I haven't experienced it. I'm thinking it could be mostly a Windows thing, but that's pure speculatin. The only NI plug-ins that have been acting strange is Kontakt. But mostly it's fine.
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2008, 01:15 AM
Horsewater Horsewater is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 21
Default Re: Your success with Native Instruments softsynths

Some problems with Kompakt Player (EastWest SO Platinium).
Not efficient at all and not very stable.
But it's not a 100% NI product.

Others VI's (Stylus, Mach5, Ivory, Trilogy, BFD, Reason, XPand, ...) run perfectly (except MOTU Symphonic which is unusable in RTAS)


Vince.
__________________
Composer / Sound Engineer
www.oupaproductions.com
G5 2x2.7 / 7Gb RAM / 10.4.9 / PTHD 7.4cs8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2008, 01:24 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,792
Default Re: Your success with Native Instruments softsynths

Quote:
Some problems with Kompakt Player (EastWest SO Platinium).
Not efficient at all and not very stable.
But it's not a 100% NI product.
99.9% NI. The interface is all NI, it's only the audio samples that come from EastWest.

NI has been unstable for me all across the board and from the very first day I started using them.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2008, 06:03 AM
Directx Directx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 51
Default Re: Your success with Native Instruments softsynths

I’m running Pro Tools 7.4 on Windows XP with a quad processor and 4GB of RAM. I own Komplete 5 and Kore2. It has been an extremely frustrating experience trying to use NI instruments with Pro Tools. I experience constant crashes, lock-ups, no sound from the plug, etc, any time there is a NI plug involved. For me, it seems to be related to their DFD streaming as the synths are more stable than their sample based products like AP, Kontact (2 or 3) and EP. After switching to the A.I.R. instruments, those issues have all disappeared.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-17-2008, 06:58 AM
queenstonmusic queenstonmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: Your success with Native Instruments softsynths

I use NI's B4 II, and Gtr Rig 2 on a Macbook, and a G5. Both have been completely stable for me. My Akoustic piano often has latency issues, so I minimize track count while I'm laying down a part, but it tends to be very stable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Native Instruments - xfer fee for instruments? YYR123 Virtual Instruments 3 10-13-2013 05:47 PM
ProTools HD Native 10.3.2/ OSX 10.8.2 Success Story... Sort of. rhino1108 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 9 12-20-2012 09:25 PM
HD|Native(Mac) & Presonus FaderPort success? Belegur Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 04-25-2012 01:26 AM
Success Stories With HD Native? Big Mother Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 41 03-05-2012 04:15 PM
Your success with Native Instruments softsynths teacherman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 46 03-15-2008 12:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com