Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2012, 11:29 PM
jppp26 jppp26 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: canada
Posts: 21
Question Omni HD or SSL Alpha Link

HI
Is there Anyone who already compared the Avid Omni converters with the new SSL Alpha link MX (or Alpha Link MADI) as far as the converters go ?

I'm upgrading my gears soon and I'm wondering which unit would be the best as far as sound quality and so on. I wanted to buy an Omni HD interface with Native HD card & Protools 10. Then I saw the new SSL Alpha Link MX and I'm wondering if it's better or not ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2012, 05:48 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,891
Default Re: Omni HD or SSL Alpha Link

Quote:
Originally Posted by jppp26 View Post
HI
Is there Anyone who already compared the Avid Omni converters with the new SSL Alpha link MX (or Alpha Link MADI) as far as the converters go ?

I'm upgrading my gears soon and I'm wondering which unit would be the best as far as sound quality and so on. I wanted to buy an Omni HD interface with Native HD card & Protools 10. Then I saw the new SSL Alpha Link MX and I'm wondering if it's better or not ?

Thanks
Depends on what you need from each. Do you need the preamps and other stuff that's possible from the Omni? If you want to run PT HD with the HD Native card, if you go the SSL Alpha Link MX you're going to need the Avid MADI interface as well because you need some way to get the MADI signal into the Native card. If you go all SSL (Alpha Link to MADI X8 or MADI Extreme) then you won't be able to run PT HD.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2012, 02:09 PM
tekis tekis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 172
Default Re: Omni HD or SSL Alpha Link

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Depends on what you need from each. Do you need the preamps and other stuff that's possible from the Omni? If you want to run PT HD with the HD Native card, if you go the SSL Alpha Link MX you're going to need the Avid MADI interface as well because you need some way to get the MADI signal into the Native card. If you go all SSL (Alpha Link to MADI X8 or MADI Extreme) then you won't be able to run PT HD.
Not completely true: My buddy has three systems--two with Avid Madi to SSL Madi SX and one with SSL Delta to SSL Madi SX; all three work with PT HD.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 12-core 3.33 Westmere , OS 10.12.6, 64 gig of ram, SSD system drive, PT Ultimate 2019.6 HD Native; 2015 MacBook Air, OS 10.14.6, i7, 8gb ram, SSD, PT Ultimate 2019.5

_____________________________________________
Some credits:

http://www.allmusic.com/artist/john-...s/date-asc/100

http://soundbetter.com/profiles/3845-john-siket
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2012, 02:07 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default

I worked at a facility with the SSL madi box yesterday, not very funky at all. Unreliable.
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2012, 02:54 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 981
Default Re: Omni HD or SSL Alpha Link

I am working with the MadiXtreme and Alpha-Link MADI AX combination for about a year now, its rock solid for me with Pro Tools HD 10.x.
I am not getting any of the dreaded 9092 - 9094 errors I am seeing with my HD Native card.


Oliver
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-03-2012, 07:57 AM
percent42 percent42 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kingwood, TX
Posts: 2
Default Re: Omni HD or SSL Alpha Link

There isn't to much of a difference between the two. I run an Alpha Link with a Delta link and am very happy with that. I chose SSL because of their support. You can send an email and they'll get right back to you. With AVID you have to purchase a code for support and it can take several days.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2012, 11:04 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,821
Default Re: Omni HD or SSL Alpha Link

We've been running 2-SSL DeltaLinks for almost 4-years with 128-IO from an SSL C200 console. There is a bit of weirdness that happens when PT first boots and won't recognize the interfaces, but once you recycle power as suggested by PT, all is happy and stable.

However, you are talking about AlphaLink, right? Same concept but with SSL A/D conversion?

I do have to agree with percent42 that SSL's support if EXCELLENT, but we also pay a yearly fee for what we have.

Good luck!
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT HD CORE & HD ACCEL + SSL Delta Link + SSL Alpha Link Noizz focushocuspocus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-29-2012 09:12 PM
HDX Madi with SSL Alpha-Link AX sammyfarr Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 08-11-2012 05:11 PM
Pro Tools Playback Issues at 88.2 with Delta Link / Alpha Link - Any ideas? azirkin macOS 1 01-17-2012 02:30 AM
PTHD 8 and SSL Delta Link / Alpha Link. Compatible? sonicam Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-24-2009 03:08 AM
SSL Alpha Link? Ru_C Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-22-2007 04:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com