Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-05-2005, 12:05 PM
Robert Mattsson Robert Mattsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
Default Re: Possible to replace the Mbox with other interf

Oh...I see=) Thanks!

But what about the Digi 002? Does it allow you to use hard bypassing even when you patch in to SPDIF, i.e. bypass the AD coverters? Does it have to do with that it uses firewire?

Would it then work by using an M-Audio Firewire 18/14 for example with LE, instead of my Mbox. I have heard that M-Audio hardware sometimes works with Tools.

And also, to bypass the DA coverters (on the way back) do you simply connect the SPDIF out into your external convereter, and then feed the speakers from there?

Many thanks!

/Rob
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-06-2005, 09:08 AM
Robert Mattsson Robert Mattsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
Default Re: Possible to replace the Mbox with other interf

Oh...I see=) Thanks!

But what about the Digi 002? Does it allow you to use hard bypassing even when you patch in to SPDIF, i.e. bypass the AD coverters? Does it have to do with that it uses firewire?

Would it then work by using an M-Audio Firewire 18/14 for example with LE, instead of my Mbox. I have heard that M-Audio hardware sometimes works with Tools.

And also, to bypass the DA coverters (on the way back) do you simply connect the SPDIF out into your external convereter, and then feed the speakers from there?

Many thanks!

/Rob
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-06-2005, 10:46 AM
AverageJoe AverageJoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 779
Default Re: Possible to replace the Mbox with other interf

Quote:
Oh...I see=) Thanks!

But what about the Digi 002? Does it allow you to use hard bypassing even when you patch in to SPDIF, i.e. bypass the AD coverters? Does it have to do with that it uses firewire?

Would it then work by using an M-Audio Firewire 18/14 for example with LE, instead of my Mbox. I have heard that M-Audio hardware sometimes works with Tools.

And also, to bypass the DA coverters (on the way back) do you simply connect the SPDIF out into your external convereter, and then feed the speakers from there?

Many thanks!

/Rob


Well on the 002 there is no "hardware bypass" for latency since the FW connection allows for much lower native latency levels. I don't own a 002, but on the 001 (and I believe the 002's) there is a "Low Latency" mode (not available on the MBox) that keeps latency pretty darn low. I don't know the exact specs but I always used it for vocals and drum recording.

You can use the M-Audio interfaces only with the M-Audio versions of PTLE. There's more info at www.digidesign.com

And yes, to bypass the DA of the interface, come out the SPDIF to your converter. I think by default the SPDIF out is set to mirror the main outs, and in fact on the MBox that's all it does.

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:03 PM
Robert Mattsson Robert Mattsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
Default Re: Possible to replace the Mbox with other interf

Thanks so much for your help! It's all much clearer now...=)

So would that mean that by investing in the M-Audio version of PTLE and getting a Firewire Interface, my problems would be solved? = No latency when using external Preamp.

Again, thanks a lot!

All the best,

Rob
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:14 PM
Pro Tools LE Pro Tools LE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 104
Default Possible to replace the Mbox with other interf

Just get the Digi002 in my honest opinion and do the setup these helpful guys have told you.
__________________
Support Independent Artists!! You can start by visiting www.myspace.com/2gonline
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Options to replace 003 as interface OneMadSon Third Party Interfaces 6 12-17-2013 03:47 PM
Protools 9 - Audio Interface to replace Mbox gerarddaly Pro Tools 9 7 11-10-2010 11:49 PM
interface to replace Mbox 2 with analog summing and more ins and outs? JWW 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 09-08-2010 09:53 PM
New LE interface to replace 001? Kirkland 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 05-21-2003 11:26 AM
What are you using to replace the 001/002s Midi interface? APAULOS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-20-2002 09:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com