Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2002, 10:52 AM
fwafitz fwafitz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Orleans, Louisiana
Posts: 30
Default Crossfades

I posted this message on the Host Tips & Techniques Forum but so far no takers, so I'll try here...(what's the difference in these 2 forums anyway? The content seems pretty much the same. How do I decide which forum to post a question on, or do I post to both?)

Anyway, on to my topic...

Please help me get a better understanding of "crossfades" --- how and when they are used, what are they good for, how they fix things, when not to use them, any possible applications, specific examples (especially related to live drumkit editing), anything!... Right now, I don't have any idea how they are utilized.

Also, if you know of other places where I can go to learn more about this topic, please point me in that direction.

Thanks for any info.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2002, 11:33 AM
rsmith123 rsmith123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 152
Default Re: Crossfades

Hi,
I have been right where you are and I didn't get much direction from people so I am inclined to help you.

Crossfades are used when joining 2 pieces of audio together.

They will keep the pops and clicks out of your playback. When joing two pieces, I use tha smallest size possible that will cover the transition enough to avoid pops. This is usually 25-50 samples. I have had to use larger ones at times 100-300 samples when I screw up in editing but even then, they have always been invisible.

Hope it helps. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2002, 11:42 AM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: Crossfades

fwafitz,
rsmith has given you a good definiton, I think, but check this out too. Say you have pasted 2 Audio pieces together, of any kind. At the point where they meet, often there is an audible 'pop' that you don't want in your mix.
An easy way to use Crossfade to fix that pop, is to hightlite the smallest area possible, from the end of first Audio section, and into the beginning of the second Audio section, right? Then just hit Ctrl/F, which will bring up the PT Crossfade window, and hit OK.
If it says something like 'Out of bounds....', again tell it to go ahead and do it.

It works great, and only recently did my friend Phil O'Keefe tell me about it.(I'm so dim sometimes...hehe)

Hope that helps you too,
~Roy [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-26-2002, 11:58 AM
homerg homerg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Dallas, Texas, US
Posts: 441
Default Re: Crossfades

What if you are consolidating a track made up of several punch-ins, should I create the crossfades first ot will the consolidation take the pops out?
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
MD Athlon XP3200+2.20GHZ
Corsair XMS PC3200 400MHZ 1GB
WD EIDE 10GB
WD EIDE 250GB
XP Pro SP1
ProTools LE 6.4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2002, 01:22 PM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: Crossfades

homerg,
I'm not sure that just consolidating will take out all the pops. I've consolidated before and still heard pops. Usually, I've done all the crossfading I'm gonna do first anyway, before I consolidate a track.
Phil will probably know if consolidating alone gets the pops out.
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2002, 01:40 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: Crossfades

The problem lies in the sudden change of level in the waveform. Hence the pop. Consolidating does not fix that. Bouncing to disk will not fix that.

Either go in on samplelevel and draw it in, or make a small crossfade as Roy suggested.

All the professional digital system suffer from this problem...protools TDM has some feature that will perform the crossfade automatically, and dat-machines, ADAT-machines and digital betacam-machines will make a small crossfade too.....
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-26-2002, 01:50 PM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: Crossfades

Also, I know that Phil had tried to find out if we could 'mass' crossfade a whole track (where there are several 'pops'), and we can't. We have to crossfade them one by one. But still, at least there is a solution...
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me with crossfades! HastyRichtardo Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 04-26-2010 07:51 PM
PT crossfades? buckaroo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-30-2008 12:46 PM
Crossfades in LE 6.9 trackster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-27-2006 08:25 AM
Crossfades? Gary Fitz Post - Surround - Video 7 11-11-2005 01:12 AM
Crossfades stut5 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-24-2002 03:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com