Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-05-2009, 10:36 PM

Default Firewire -- to chain or not to chain

So I have a shiny new Digi 003, a newish laptop (Lenovo T61p), and a couple of hard drives (LaCie d2 Quadra for music only, WD MyBook Dual for backups). The Digi003 and the hard drives are all Firewire. My Lenovo laptop only comes with a single Firewire 400/800 port. Not even the spendy dock I bought for it has an extra firewire port. Height of lameness (yeah, perhaps I should have bought a Mac).

I'm new to Firewire, so my question is -- what is the best way to put all this together? The 003 is FW400, the two drives are FW800. Does one chain Firewire ala old school SCSI stuff? Does that degrade devices downstream somehow? The 003 manual says that ProTools can't use the maximum # of tracks when it is not the first member of a chain, but they give no explanation, and say to go to www.digidesign.com for more details (here I am?). I mostly use the 003 via ASIO with Live and other tools, and I wouldn't want throughput to be affected in those apps. I will probably start using ProTools more now that I have the 003, so I don't want to be limited here.

Digi also says the 003 doesn't pass on Firewire data when the Digi is turned off, so that doesn't make it a very nice first member of the chain. Also the 003 is only Firewire 400, so that also doesn't seem like it's a good thing to put first. I've read in some posts here that if a single device is at 400 in a chain all of it has to run at 400. Is that true? Does order in the chain matter/help?