Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2000, 01:11 AM
zeeman zeeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: philadelphia,pa usa
Posts: 568
Default ADAT BRIDGE/DIGI PERFORMER TO PT

hey just looking for a little advice.
i have a client coming in on monday to transfer from motu 2408 to pt.
i have an adat bridge coming. the client wants to do 16 tracks via lightpipe(adat brige)
any thing weird i should know....
oms config?? pt config???
i am hoping he knows his end of things. the client is bringing his whole rig (comp/2408/adat bridge)
any thoughts would be most appreciated.

9600/g3 300 mix plus/1 vin card pt 5.0
os 8.6

cmz
__________________
MAC OS 10.11.6
2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 48gig ram
PT 2018.1
Lynx Aurora 16/AES16
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2000, 11:11 AM
cknight cknight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: New York,NY
Posts: 64
Default Re: ADAT BRIDGE/DIGI PERFORMER TO PT

I guess my question would be what is he transfering?

If they are hard disk tracks recorded with some other DAW why not import them directly into ProTools? He can bounce them or re-record them as contiguous tracks all starting at the same point or with a 2-beep. Then import them into your ProTools session and line them up.

Or are you saying that he wants to record tracks live via the 2408/adat bridge and into ProTools? If that is the case he should record them into AudioDesk (MOTU's free software that comes with 2408), or other 2408 compatable software. Then import them into ProTools and line them up. I think you will have fewer problems this way.

Chris Knight
nyc

__________________
Chris Knight
nyc
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2000, 12:39 PM
zeeman zeeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: philadelphia,pa usa
Posts: 568
Default Re: ADAT BRIDGE/DIGI PERFORMER TO PT

hey chris,
thanks for the info. i did suggest just importing them but i believe he has between 30-40 tracks per tune with losta edits. i don't think he has the disk space needed for all of the bounces. there's something like 12 tunez. he is bringing his computer/2408/adat bridge/digi performer. i am hopeing to just lock to mtc. i wanted to make the psx-100 my main clock but i'm still not quite sure what to do yet.thanks for the help.


cmz
__________________
MAC OS 10.11.6
2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 48gig ram
PT 2018.1
Lynx Aurora 16/AES16
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2000, 04:01 PM
cknight cknight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: New York,NY
Posts: 64
Default Re: ADAT BRIDGE/DIGI PERFORMER TO PT

Well, I guess if you have to do it that way you can. But one way or another he is going to need the disk space--whether he bounces the files or re-records them into your system. Maybe he could use your drives( or borrow or rent drives) to bounce the files and then import them into PT. Maybe he could just do a few songs at a time.

He has his DP files backed up right? Personally, I would even install DP on your computer, load the DP files and bounce them on your system and then import them. This would save him from bringing his rig into your studio.

Keep in mind, if you transfer via lightpipe, you're not going to be able to acheive sample accurate transfers (which may not matter that much.) And the ADAT bridge is only 20-bit. (also, may not matter, if he recorded his tracks at 16-bit.)

Having the PSX-100 as master clock is a good start. Connect the word-clock out to the 2408 word clock in. Make sure the ADAT bridge is configured correctly("digital" sync) in your DAE hardware setup. I think the ADAT bridge can get the sync from the PSX-100 via SPDIF or via the 2408 via lightpipe.

You will also need your MIDI interface to send SMPTE to his MIDI interface. Then select "slave to external sync" in Digital Performer. Make sure your frame rates all match up. Hitting record/play in ProTools should send sync to his system.

In regards to OMS configurations, the systems should be fairly independant of one and other. I don't think you will have to change your OMS config, or his OMS( or FreeMIDI) config. Just make sure you are able to send smpte (MTC) from your interface to his.

Sorry if I left anything out, I have never done this exact thing before, I am thinking off the top of my head.

Oh yeah, have you thought about bouncing the files in DP and importing them into PT?

------------------
Chris Knight
nyc
__________________
Chris Knight
nyc
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2000, 07:50 PM
zeeman zeeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: philadelphia,pa usa
Posts: 568
Default Re: ADAT BRIDGE/DIGI PERFORMER TO PT

hey chris,
thanks again.
man i have tried everything to have him do any of the things you listed, but he wants to do the lightpipe thing.i will try to get the psx as my master clock. i'm not sure if the adat bridge will see the clock through the lightpipe. i will soon find out. thanks again for your help.

cmz
__________________
MAC OS 10.11.6
2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 48gig ram
PT 2018.1
Lynx Aurora 16/AES16
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adat Bridge 24 and 192 digi on PT9 audiocontrol macOS 0 06-27-2012 02:02 AM
DIGI Help....192 and ADAT Bridge 24..Sessions Waiting Grey Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-25-2002 01:11 AM
Q for Digi Tech Support / Adat Bridge Sergent Pepper Tips & Tricks 4 05-23-2001 08:20 PM
ADAT Bridge up to 24bit ... Thanks, Digi Vaughn Skow General Discussion 0 10-03-2000 07:49 AM
Adat Bridge - Shame on yu Digi ! Sergent Pepper General Discussion 10 04-25-2000 10:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com