Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 11-30-2006, 04:45 AM

Default How to use the JOEMEEK compressors??

I was told the other day that all professional recordings use a compressor of some sorts when recording to give the recording a fuller sound. The thing is do i use the JOEMEEK compressor plug-in with my M-Box before i begin to record my vocals or after. When i use the pluig-in after i have recoreded my vocals, i don't seem to notice any difference in the sound, or maybe it's just my unfamiliarity with the plugin as i have never used it before.I kind of get the idea of how the compressor works, so now i want to be able to use the plug-in effectively so as to get a better quality, on my vocal sounds. So what i am really trying to say is how do i go about using the compresser plug-in to achieve professional results, taking in to account i havn't really used the plug-in before

Thanks
Old 11-30-2006, 12:22 PM

Default Re: How to use the JOEMEEK compressors??

HI,

first start off with a decent quality compressor plug-in like URS or Sony Oxford, Massey plug-ins or
McDSP. The Digi III Dynamics Suite is also of decent quality, I say.

The Joemeek is just effects quality and will most likely NOT give another quality to your recording that is not just an effect, which also has it´s place in sound design.

I´d just want to make clear that nearly every plug-in out there has a special strength for
how to use it at it´s best. Some more, some less.

Then, you should NOT record with any plug-in in the recording chain and with as few add.
outboard gear as possible, unless you´re exactly know what you´re doing.

The effect you are experiencing is most likely the distorted signal you hear when you clip