Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #251  
Old 10-26-2016, 08:13 AM
Ken Skoglund Ken Skoglund is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sweden
Posts: 64
Default Re: When can we expect HD Core Audio to be fixed for Mac OS X El Capitan?

Just upgraded from Yosemite/12.5 to El Capitain/12.6. I use Logic Pro a lot and now I can not connect Logic, or anything else to my HDX/Inteface. Using a HDX card and an Omni interface right now. It worked fine with the old setup. Started a support case with Avid just now, since I'm on the support plan.
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 10-26-2016, 08:26 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Re: When can we expect HD Core Audio to be fixed for Mac OS X El Capitan?

I honestly don't see why all you guys are so upset over this. I mean, sure you may have spent $20k on an HDX system and all. Big deal! But it's not like you paid hundreds of dollars in advance for support and bug fixes or anything like that. Oh, wait...
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 10-26-2016, 08:57 AM
MusoPro's Avatar
MusoPro MusoPro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jerusalem,Israel
Posts: 409
Default Re: When can we expect HD Core Audio to be fixed for Mac OS X El Capitan?

From what I know this has existed since Yosemite. I wouldn't hold your breath. I bought Source Elements Nexus Pro. It lets you send and receive audio from any software using sound on your Mac.
Which means you can listen to things such as Online music libraries directly to Pro Tools.
The other cool thing is people anywhere in the world can actually listen in on your sessions through the Source Elements site.
You can also have Skype or FaceTime route directly to your session.
I

Good Luck

Mitch



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Best

Mitch

MacPro 2.44 8 Core


Mac OSX 10.10.5
PT 12.7
HD Native
SyncHD I/O
HD I/O
MIDI I/O
C24
Aja LiHi
Surround Setup
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 10-26-2016, 09:11 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 991
Default Re: When can we expect HD Core Audio to be fixed for Mac OS X El Capitan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
I honestly don't see why all you guys are so upset over this. I mean, sure you may have spent $20k on an HDX system and all. Big deal! But it's not like you paid hundreds of dollars in advance for support and bug fixes or anything like that. Oh, wait...
Well it is a first world problem no doubt
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.6 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 10-26-2016, 09:24 AM
Seafoam_Green's Avatar
Seafoam_Green Seafoam_Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bali - Indonesia
Posts: 788
Default Re: When can we expect HD Core Audio to be fixed for Mac OS X El Capitan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Skoglund View Post
Just upgraded from Yosemite/12.5 to El Capitain/12.6. I use Logic Pro a lot and now I can not connect Logic, or anything else to my HDX/Inteface. Using a HDX card and an Omni interface right now. It worked fine with the old setup. Started a support case with Avid just now, since I'm on the support plan.
AFAIK Ken, your screwed .., I think your only available workaround is to remove the avidCore audio plugin from your HAL Folder (located in the mackintosh HD/ library/audio/plugins)

make sure to save a copy of it and store somewhere before you delete it
.., others will chime in if I am wrong.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.1 Native * Slate Raven MTi-1 Version 3.3.0 * AVID MBox3 Pro * OSX Sierra 10.12.6 * MAC PRO (late 2013) * 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 * 64 GB Ram 1866 MHz DDR * AMD FirePro D300 2048Mb * Lacie LBD 1TB Thunderbolt 2 PCiE * Blackmagic Multidock Thunderbolt2 (Broken !!! - shyte support from Blackmagic Singapore > A-Holes) * Samsung SSD's 850 Pro * WD Black HDD's
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old 10-26-2016, 09:27 AM
Ken Skoglund Ken Skoglund is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sweden
Posts: 64
Default Re: When can we expect HD Core Audio to be fixed for Mac OS X El Capitan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MusoPro View Post
From what I know this has existed since Yosemite. I wouldn't hold your breath. I bought Source Elements Nexus Pro. It lets you send and receive audio from any software using sound on your Mac.
Which means you can listen to things such as Online music libraries directly to Pro Tools.
The other cool thing is people anywhere in the world can actually listen in on your sessions through the Source Elements site.
You can also have Skype or FaceTime route directly to your session.
I

Good Luck

Mitch



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Thanks Mitch, I'm trying the demo now while waiting for Avid.
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 10-26-2016, 09:42 AM
Seafoam_Green's Avatar
Seafoam_Green Seafoam_Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bali - Indonesia
Posts: 788
Default Re: When can we expect HD Core Audio to be fixed for Mac OS X El Capitan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MusoPro View Post
From what I know this has existed since Yosemite. I wouldn't hold your breath. I bought Source Elements Nexus Pro. It lets you send and receive audio from any software using sound on your Mac.
Which means you can listen to things such as Online music libraries directly to Pro Tools.
The other cool thing is people anywhere in the world can actually listen in on your sessions through the Source Elements site.
You can also have Skype or FaceTime route directly to your session.
I

Good Luck

Mitch



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I don't have HD , just native .., but I bought nexus, as well as many other plugs etc 'as workarounds' for the disgracefully busted avid core audio .., ie' Stuff i didn't need if Avid had of had their shyte together.

Had I have known 2.5 years ago that i'd still be waiting for Avid to fix this debacle .., I could have and would have just bought a new NON-AVID interface that didnt need to rely on Avid core Audio , as thats what those workaround plugins have cost me

..., the aggravation and frustration , well thats another cost
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.1 Native * Slate Raven MTi-1 Version 3.3.0 * AVID MBox3 Pro * OSX Sierra 10.12.6 * MAC PRO (late 2013) * 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 * 64 GB Ram 1866 MHz DDR * AMD FirePro D300 2048Mb * Lacie LBD 1TB Thunderbolt 2 PCiE * Blackmagic Multidock Thunderbolt2 (Broken !!! - shyte support from Blackmagic Singapore > A-Holes) * Samsung SSD's 850 Pro * WD Black HDD's
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 10-26-2016, 12:18 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 991
Default Re: When can we expect HD Core Audio to be fixed for Mac OS X El Capitan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seafoam_Green View Post
I don't have HD , just native .., but I bought nexus, as well as many other plugs etc 'as workarounds' for the disgracefully busted avid core audio .., ie' Stuff i didn't need if Avid had of had their shyte together.

Had I have known 2.5 years ago that i'd still be waiting for Avid to fix this debacle .., I could have and would have just bought a new NON-AVID interface that didnt need to rely on Avid core Audio , as thats what those workaround plugins have cost me

..., the aggravation and frustration , well thats another cost
Wait ! What ? I thought this was only an Avid HD hardware Core Audio driver problem ? Are you saying you can't close PT and run ITunes or Sound Cloud thru your system either ?
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.6 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 10-26-2016, 12:21 PM
tundra tundra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 175
Default Re: When can we expect HD Core Audio to be fixed for Mac OS X El Capitan?

Thats right. Thats the bug. the ONLY application that can use the HDX hardware is Protools.. No OSX, No iTunes, no Chrome, no Safari etc etc.. no other DAWS.
Nothing.. Only Protools.


Turnkey system now.
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 10-26-2016, 01:21 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 991
Default Re: When can we expect HD Core Audio to be fixed for Mac OS X El Capitan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tundra View Post
Thats right. Thats the bug. the ONLY application that can use the HDX hardware is Protools.. No OSX, No iTunes, no Chrome, no Safari etc etc.. no other DAWS.
Nothing.. Only Protools.


Turnkey system now.
Can you clarify a bit further ? Are you answering my question to Seafoam? He seems to be saying it's the same for PT vanilla and apparently his M Box Pro, so that's something different and additional than the known HD Core Audio driver problem since Yosemite.

And to clarify are you speaking of El Cap only ? And (what is HDX hardware , do you mean HD hardware?) or are you specifically reffering to HDX cards ? If your talking about El Cap (which I haven't tried) to clarify I can run both Reason and Studio One 3, thru my Avid Omni with HD Native on Yosemite , but cannot run Soundcloud or iTunes or Final Cut Pro X.
So are you saying that changed with El Cap ?
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.6 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...

Last edited by K Roche; 10-26-2016 at 01:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Core Audio HD Driver Breaks Maschine in Yosemite ronwasserman macOS 41 12-10-2015 05:05 PM
Native instruments Maschine not opening in Yosemite OS bc of Avid Core audio Driver? amos922 Pro Tools 12 4 06-18-2015 01:27 PM
Avid hd native core card used $1200 Killbert Buy & Sell 3 01-14-2014 07:16 PM
AVID HD NATIVE PCIe CORE CARD CHEAP!!! Killbert Buy & Sell 0 01-09-2014 07:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com