Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2021, 02:21 PM
Ryan Kelly Ryan Kelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 57
Default MTRX Studio Pops on SR change

Hey all,

Just got a MTRX Studio setup and (aside from the disappointment on a lack of Dante SRC) it's been a fairly smooth transition (thanks for the YouTube setup videos!)

The issue I'm having is that every time I change sample rates or close Pro Tools I'm getting a pop through my monitors that I didn't get with my Omni. I've tried muting before hand but it seems that doesn't actually cut the output's signal and wondered if that's just the way it is or if there's some other setting I need to hit to avoid that.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2021, 03:56 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,953
Default Re: MTRX Studio Pops on SR change

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Kelly View Post
Hey all,

Just got a MTRX Studio setup and (aside from the disappointment on a lack of Dante SRC) it's been a fairly smooth transition (thanks for the YouTube setup videos!)

The issue I'm having is that every time I change sample rates or close Pro Tools I'm getting a pop through my monitors that I didn't get with my Omni. I've tried muting before hand but it seems that doesn't actually cut the output's signal and wondered if that's just the way it is or if there's some other setting I need to hit to avoid that.
I get audible clicks from the the MTRXst itself, (relays presumably) but not through the monitors.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2021, 07:13 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,321
Default Re: MTRX Studio Pops on SR change

Greetings,

A few things. Regarding quitting Pro Tools -> I would recommend (after quitting Pro Tools) open up Applications > Utilities > Audio MIDI Setup > Audio and change the default Sample Rate of HDX (or HDN which ever you have) from 192kHz to 48kHz or whatever your most commonly used rate is. That way on quit when Pro Tools is transitioning from talking to the hardware internally vs through Core Audio - there is no switch.

2nd. How are you clocking? What is your sync / clock source in DADman and how are you distributing clock? Are you speakers analog or digitally connected? Thanks.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2021, 08:53 AM
Ryan Kelly Ryan Kelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 57
Default Re: MTRX Studio Pops on SR change

Thanks for the reply Jeff.

I'm clocked internally on the MTRX Studio feeding word clock to a H9000 in. Previously had this on Loop Sync with an Omni/16x16 Setup but wasn't sure there was any reason to continue with just two interfaces.

I did set the Audio Midi sample rate to 48k, unfortunately I work at a lot of different rates depending on the artists (currently at 88.2 and started the day at 96k) so I don't think there's a single sample rate that will avoid that if the pops go through on sample rate changes everytime.

Speakers are connected Analog from DSUB 1-8 on channels 1-2. I can switch to the TRS jacks if you think that's the issue, just expected the Mute to actually stay muted when on.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2021, 11:22 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,321
Default Re: MTRX Studio Pops on SR change

Understood. I'm having trouble reproducing the behavior you are describing.

Presumably, the pop you mention is also visibly metering through your DigiLink inputs in DADman yes? Are you using your H9k with a DigiLink option card as well? Can you repro the issue without the Eventide connected?

Let me know what you find - and if you want to dig in deeper feel free to email me directly: jeff.komar@avid.com.

I have numerous MTRX and MTRX Studio devices here and want to try and understand what is causing the spikes. Thanks.


:::ADD:::

I was able to reproduce some pops - however only by cranking up every aspect of the gain stage up -> speakers 100% and control room +12. What speakers are you monitoring through and how do you have them set / calibrated?

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...vel-in-Pro-Mon


best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ

Last edited by creativecontrol; 03-08-2021 at 11:39 AM. Reason: Augmentation
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2021, 07:39 PM
freeBase freeBase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 65
Default Re: MTRX Studio Pops on SR change

I also get clicks and pops when opening sessions with different sample rates than I'm currently on. I have DADman set to follow the ProTools sample rate. Most times I don't know that the session I'm opening is a different rate until it starts popping through the headphones.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX Studio with HD I/O nedd Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 22 03-02-2021 01:12 PM
MTRX Studio i/o Cheesehead Post - Surround - Video 9 02-21-2021 08:17 AM
MTRX Studio - AVB headingnorth@outlook.com Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 02-03-2021 02:32 AM
MTRX Studio clicks Reckless Erik Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 11-29-2020 05:30 PM
MTRX Studio - No AES?! Ryan Young Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 23 02-23-2020 02:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com