Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2018, 08:11 AM
Recengnr24 Recengnr24 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Buffalo,NY,USA
Posts: 36
Default No OMF Import with 2018.10

I just updated to 2018.10, I would recommend folks hold off on doing so. Especially if you utilize OMF. I've never had issues doing so and was running 2018.7 and importing OMF data just fine. After updating to 2018.10 I get the following error message after trying to import OMF data "Cannot open the selected file because it does not contain data that can be imported via Session Data"... I've also tried importing OMF via drag and drop but that literally does nothing...So now I'm screwed and have to try and get back to 2018.7

Is anyone else seeing this as well?
__________________
Chris

Mac Pro 12 Core-2.4GHz,64GB RAM,OS-10.11.6
RedNET 5, Venue Profile 128
PT HDX3 v2018.10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2018, 08:19 AM
Trent W. Trent W. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 684
Default Re: No OMF Import with 2018.10

Just tested after reading this - works fine and well on my end, no issues to report.

Sounds like you might have a bung OMF file .. ?
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.10.0|Ultimate, Focusrite 8PreX, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Quad Satellite, UAD Octo SatelliteiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2018, 08:42 AM
Recengnr24 Recengnr24 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Buffalo,NY,USA
Posts: 36
Default Re: No OMF Import with 2018.10

I would agree that it could be the OMF except that I have already used the same OMF in a different session that I started with 2018.7 and the file was just fine. I've also tried importing other OMF files that I know to have worked without issue but end up with the same error...
__________________
Chris

Mac Pro 12 Core-2.4GHz,64GB RAM,OS-10.11.6
RedNET 5, Venue Profile 128
PT HDX3 v2018.10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2018, 08:48 AM
Recengnr24 Recengnr24 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Buffalo,NY,USA
Posts: 36
Default Re: No OMF Import with 2018.10

Ok, so I'm not sure why this is the case but I went back to import an OMF that I would've used in a 2018.4 session and that one and earlier worked fine. It seems to be only OMF files that have been used in 2018.7 sessions that will no longer import into 2018.10
__________________
Chris

Mac Pro 12 Core-2.4GHz,64GB RAM,OS-10.11.6
RedNET 5, Venue Profile 128
PT HDX3 v2018.10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2018, 10:37 AM
Trent W. Trent W. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 684
Default Re: No OMF Import with 2018.10

Unsure dude .. sorry you're having issues. 2018.10.0 OMF import working fine here.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.10.0|Ultimate, Focusrite 8PreX, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Quad Satellite, UAD Octo SatelliteiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2018, 02:14 AM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,057
Default Re: No OMF Import with 2018.10

2018.10 OMF import working fine on my end. Mac Pro Cheesegrate, Sierra
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2018, 02:26 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,191
Default Re: No OMF Import with 2018.10

Working fine here
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.10, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-21-2018, 05:14 AM
spoons's Avatar
spoons spoons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 253
Default Re: No OMF Import with 2018.10

I think something change about a year ago (or may be longer) in the way protools imports Omfs and AAFs, which throws up more errors. This could have something to do with Premier being used so much more but I still get bad imports using AAFs from an Avid. I’m on Ultimate now but my workflow is to open up the OMF/AAF independently and let it make its own protools session. I then drag that protools session into the session I’m using for the mix.
Saying that I haven’t seen the error your talking about and I still get errors importing especially when working with a new editors.

spoons.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Richard Spooner

www.spoonsound.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 2018.7 Import session data crash mars100 Pro Tools 2018 1 11-06-2018 08:38 AM
Pt 2018.7 can't import video or open a session with video in it Jeffrey Talbot Post - Surround - Video 10 10-10-2018 02:09 PM
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 06-27-2018 07:33 AM
AAF import error in 2018.3 rhumphries Post - Surround - Video 1 05-29-2018 04:48 PM
Pro Tools 2018.1 crashing during audio import/export Robert Torres Pro Tools 2018 5 02-06-2018 02:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com