Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-13-2001, 04:09 PM

Default video capture

Hello
I just got a new g4733 and 001 and would like to use quicktime to sync for film composing. I am new to this system but have been using Logic with a MTP AV and syncing to a VHS with timecode (too slow). I have not been able to find an aurora fuse. Any other suggestions?
thanks zaum2002
Old 09-13-2001, 06:36 PM

Default Re: video capture

I've been trying this. LE doesn't support SMPTE as such but it will accept MTC and freewheel from the starting point. In that sense it doesn't stay synced with the video, so after a half hour or so it might be a few frames out.

This is not the case with QT movies imported into the session. It will retain frame accuracy throughout (they say), and i have no evidence to deny this.
I currently am doing work for a production house which uses an Avid system. They give me a CD with the program on it, I use Digitranslator to extract all the tracks and QT, Import it and away we go. The only hassle is the lack of the SMPTE window on the vision, but I'm working on that.

Hope this is of some help.
Old 09-14-2001, 07:44 AM

Hi Murray,

Do they give you a CD with an OMF burned onto it or has it been converted to a QT for you? I've been trying to import video into a PT system from a Avid Xpress without luck.

Thanks
Old 09-15-2001, 12:50 AM

Hello