Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2019, 09:50 AM
alanbenj alanbenj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 2
Default Constant CPU Errors Making Sessions Slow and Unworkable

Hey guys, first time poster, long time listener.

Been constant CPU errors hindering my sessions. These are not huge sessions, I'm talking, 40-50 tracks, not a ton of plugins, and to my knowledge, using mostly low-cpu plugins), freezing or committing software instruments as I go... trying to overall keep the sessions streamlined for optimal CPU usage. I am also operating off of two separate external ssd's (one for studio, one for samples).

When I first open the session, things are usually fine. Total CPU usage hovering around 40%. When I press play, total CPU usage around 55%. All core's between 30-45% usually. As I dive deeper into the session for a longer amount of time (I'm talking minutes - like 10-15) the CPU will randomly spike to 100% and give me:

"Pro Tools ran out of CPU power. Try de-activating or removing Native plug-ins. (AAE-9173)."

I'll also occasionally get "increase hardware buffer size" in the mix as well. I've played with that a bit and haven't found that it helps a ton either way.

I am running off of:

MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015)
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
512gb SSD

Issues also happen in Logic. The system will just completely bog down and everything becomes super slow... even scrolling, opening plugins, etc. And then of course the constant errors and stops in playback. The sessions becomes unworkable when this happens - things that should take me 2 hours end up taking me 5 because of how slow the workflow becomes.

I've tried all of the easy tips/tricks I can find in the forum (turn wifi off, make sure pro tools is only thing running, operate off of externals, etc etc) so I'm kind of at a loss next to upgrading my system, which obviously I don't wanna do cost-wise if I don't absolutely need to.

Am I missing something? Is this a common issue with my set up? Am I just an idiot? Just seems like my CPU can't handle what I'm doing, but what I'm doing *should* be able to be handled by CPU.

Thanks for any input. If I left any key info out, lemme know and I'll post.

Last edited by alanbenj; 04-24-2019 at 08:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2019, 10:18 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,963
Default Re: Constant CPU Errors Making Sessions Slow and Unworkable

What macOS... if Mojave Try disabling hyperthreading (widely discussed on DUC...)

What IO buffer size and sample rate are you trying to operate at, is it stable at large buffer sizes?

Get your system fully optimized.Every last thing done. Disk cache set to a few GB, ignore errors not checked (while troubleshooting), dynamic processing off..

One session or all having problems? If one session it may be corrupt.

Try standard troubleshooting steps, especially trashing prefs, moving aside plugin files. Looking for denormalization issues (search/google that), testing with built in output as the playback engine, creating a new admin account and testing there with a new empty session...

Start at “Help us Help you” up the top of each DUC page.

There is not much anybody here can do for you until you do that work and if still having problems report back clearly all the things you tried.

Telling us stuff like you have an “SSD” is not a lot of help, what exact make/model SSD attached exactly how (USB2, USB 3.1 Gen 2, Thunderbolt 2....)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2019, 03:14 PM
Downtown_BE Downtown_BE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: switzerland
Posts: 127
Default Re: Constant CPU Errors Making Sessions Slow and Unworkable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
What macOS... if Mojave Try disabling hyperthreading (widely discussed on DUC...)

What IO buffer size and sample rate are you trying to operate at, is it stable at large buffer sizes?

Get your system fully optimized.Every last thing done. Disk cache set to a few GB, ignore errors not checked (while troubleshooting), dynamic processing off..

One session or all having problems? If one session it may be corrupt.

Try standard troubleshooting steps, especially trashing prefs, moving aside plugin files. Looking for denormalization issues (search/google that), testing with built in output as the playback engine, creating a new admin account and testing there with a new empty session...

Start at “Help us Help you” up the top of each DUC page.

There is not much anybody here can do for you until you do that work and if still having problems report back clearly all the things you tried.

Telling us stuff like you have an “SSD” is not a lot of help, what exact make/model SSD attached exactly how (USB2, USB 3.1 Gen 2, Thunderbolt 2....)
dynamic processing off? never heard of that one - does it work?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-23-2019, 09:10 PM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 485
Default Re: Constant CPU Errors Making Sessions Slow and Unworkable

I'm never clear if that's sensible or not.

Shouldn't dynamic plug in processing be SAVING CPU in between regions/clips?
__________________
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...Kinky Boots!)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-23-2019, 09:36 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,963
Default Re: Constant CPU Errors Making Sessions Slow and Unworkable

... maybe if it worked as intended, and it does not always. Early comments from some developers were it was just not a good idea.

None of the issues people face are really running out of CPU... it’s the micro-latency with plugin thread processing occurring inside the system that causes problems. Want to think about how a dynamic scheduler affecting plugin processing might cause problems there...

But either way when things are not working you try stuff...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2019, 02:47 AM
jasonkalman jasonkalman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 84
Default Re: Constant CPU Errors Making Sessions Slow and Unworkable

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbenj View Post
Hey guys, first time poster, long time listener.

Been constant CPU errors hindering my sessions. These are not huge sessions, I'm talking, 40-50 tracks, not a ton of plugins, and to my knowledge, using mostly low-cpu plugins), freezing or committing software instruments as I go... trying to overall keep the sessions streamlined for optimal CPU usage. I am also operating off of two separate external ssd's (one for studio, one for samples).

When I first open the session, things are usually fine. Total CPU usage hovering around 40%. When I press play, total CPU usage around 55%. All core's between 30-45% usually. As I dive deeper into the session for a longer amount of time (I'm talking minutes - like 10-15) the CPU will randomly spike to 100% and give me:

"Pro Tools ran out of CPU power. Try de-activating or removing Native plug-ins. (AAE-9173)."

I'll also occasionally get "increase hardware buffer size" in the mix as well. I've played with that a bit and haven't found that it helps a ton either way.

I am running off of:

MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015)
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
512gb SSD

Issues also happen in Logic. The system will just completely bog down and everything becomes super slow... even scrolling, opening plugins, etc. And then of course the constant errors and stops in playback. The sessions becomes unworkable when this happens - things that should take me 2 hours end up taking me 5 because of how slow the workflow becomes.

I've tried all of the easy tips/tricks I can find in the forum (turn wifi off, make sure pro tools is only thing running, operate off of externals, etc etc) so I'm kind of at a loss next to upgrading my system, which obviously I don't wanna do cost-wise if I don't absolutely need to.

Am I missing something? Is this a common issue with my set up? Am I just an idiot? Just seems like my CPU can't handle what I'm doing, but what I'm doing *should* be able to be handled by CPU.

Thanks for any input. If I left any key info out, lemme know and I'll post.
I've had the same problem. Recommend moving over to Logic Pro X until the 2019.5 update fully supports Mojave. You don't have to change any settings on your computer and it just works.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.12 Ultimate, Omni, I/O, Pre, HDX, Logic Pro 10.4.4, UA Apollo UAD-2, UAD-2 Satellite, Waves 10 Mercury

https://soundcloud.com/jason-kalman
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-24-2019, 07:21 AM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 301
Default Re: Constant CPU Errors Making Sessions Slow and Unworkable

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbenj View Post
Issues also happen in Logic..
perhaps the person suggesting the OP trying Logic didn't catch this...
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Mojave, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 32 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2019.5, Slate MTi, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-24-2019, 10:44 AM
dezst dezst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Posts: 20
Default Re: Constant CPU Errors Making Sessions Slow and Unworkable

I had the same problem alot... with 16GB RAM as you have, and with smaller sessions than yours. Nothing to do with Mojave vs latest version of Pro Tools as I had the problem before I upgraded.
And increasing the hardware buffer above 512 Samples completely screwed up my session so I wouldn't advise that.
The only way I was able to solve the issue was to max-out to 32GB RAM.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.12.0 with Duet by APOGEE
M-Audio Keystation 49e
iMac 27-inch - Late 2015 - 3.2GHz - Intel Core i5
32 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
macOS Mojave v10.14.2
AMD Radeon R9 M380 2048 MB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-24-2019, 01:42 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,963
Default Re: Constant CPU Errors Making Sessions Slow and Unworkable

Quote:
Originally Posted by dezst View Post
I had the same problem alot... with 16GB RAM as you have, and with smaller sessions than yours. Nothing to do with Mojave vs latest version of Pro Tools as I had the problem before I upgraded.
And increasing the hardware buffer above 512 Samples completely screwed up my session so I wouldn't advise that.
The only way I was able to solve the issue was to max-out to 32GB RAM.
If you had relatively small sessions that needed 32GB of memory then you likely had a corrupted session or maybe plugins with memory leaks in them.

Increasing the IO buffer size until (hopefully) the session becomes stable is exactly one of the first tests anybody should be doing with CPU errors. The OP mentioned changing that but no useful clue about what exactly... like was it working at 1k or 2k samples? That is very useful info. That you had a problem at 512 samples points out something was very sick with your system.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-24-2019, 02:55 PM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 623
Default Re: Constant CPU Errors Making Sessions Slow and Unworkable

Bumping to say definitely trash prefs and AAE prefs, this app is easy to use on mac-

http://petegates.com/pg-pt-prefs.html

I've needed to trash prefs for every .x revision of PT since 2018. But then it runs well after so no biggie...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow startup / Slow opening sessions MrSoliman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-21-2018 12:45 AM
constant errors DJ BFunk macOS 5 05-27-2012 12:18 PM
constant -6031 errors on PT 9 jonathan jetter Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 22 12-20-2010 06:59 AM
Constant Errors when Installing Micah J 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 10-28-2009 10:09 PM
Constant -6101 errors mpeddle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 15 03-10-2009 09:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com