Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2008, 06:08 PM
440Hz's Avatar
440Hz 440Hz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Yarra Valley, Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 126
Default M Powered vs LE

Am just about to throw the towel in with M Powered........

Anyone got opinions on whether a dedicated Digi system (003 Rack Factory) will give better performance/reliability over my current PTMP Fastrack Pro.

Desperately wanting reliability............. and plug in suit.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2008, 08:41 PM
mradlauer1 mradlauer1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 36
Default Re: M Powered vs LE

The plug-ins are virtually the same...There are a few under the hood differences between PTMP and LE...but nothing I havent been able to live with out...

The question is, if PTMP isnt stable on your current system, what makes you think LE will be??

What are the problems your experiencing that cause instability??
__________________
White Macbook OSX 10.5.5 2.2Ghz Core 2 duo 4Gb RAM
PTMP 7.4.2
M-Audio Profire 2626 and Focusrite 26 I/O via lightpipe.
Focusrite Platinum Voicemaster Pro
KRK RP8's
1Tb Dual drive array.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2008, 09:52 PM
440Hz's Avatar
440Hz 440Hz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Yarra Valley, Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 126
Default Re: M Powered vs LE

Hey,
Thanks for the reply.......

I have another two posts stating my trials and tribulations.......

I guess my main question (considering in my current system I am using a Fast Track Pro which has limited I/O etc) would I benefit from upgrading to A Digi 003 (taking into account the amount of xtras you get in the Factory Rack bundle).

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2008, 10:20 PM
mradlauer1 mradlauer1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 36
Default Re: M Powered vs LE

I saw your other thread...Sounds like the session itself is corrupt as you were suspecting...

As for your setup? Well, I guess its all about how much you want to spend.

I have a profire 2626 and it was half the price of an 003. Its got more pre's and more I/O expandability than the 003. PLUS it works with other DAW software. Thats one of the reasons I chose the device.

Your Fastrack Pro is a USB device. I think you would be better served switching to a firewire device. Plug-ins you can buy seperately.

You have weigh a completely new setup against just upgrading what you have.

Personally I am pretty happy with PTMP. I havent run into too many issues I couldnt resolve on my own. It always works and is really solid.

Good luck!
__________________
White Macbook OSX 10.5.5 2.2Ghz Core 2 duo 4Gb RAM
PTMP 7.4.2
M-Audio Profire 2626 and Focusrite 26 I/O via lightpipe.
Focusrite Platinum Voicemaster Pro
KRK RP8's
1Tb Dual drive array.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2008, 10:29 PM
440Hz's Avatar
440Hz 440Hz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Yarra Valley, Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 126
Default Re: M Powered vs LE

Hey,
Cheers for the reply.
Sounds like you have a solid set up!

I'm not familiar with the 2626, but will investigate.
One concern I have is that I'm using an iMac (new aluminium case Intel Core 2 Duo). It only has 2 Firewire ports, 400 & 800.

Was wondering if I will run into problems when upgrading to a Firewire interface.

Cheers

Nic
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2008, 07:29 AM
JrummerJ JrummerJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 492
Default Re: M Powered vs LE

Quote:
Originally Posted by 440Hz View Post
Hey,
Cheers for the reply.
Sounds like you have a solid set up!

I'm not familiar with the 2626, but will investigate.
One concern I have is that I'm using an iMac (new aluminium case Intel Core 2 Duo). It only has 2 Firewire ports, 400 & 800.

Was wondering if I will run into problems when upgrading to a Firewire interface.

Cheers

Nic
No, you just chain the HD and the interface. Tons of people do it that way with no problems.

J
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:50 AM
mradlauer1 mradlauer1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 36
Default Re: M Powered vs LE

A buddy of mine has an iMac...Same aluminum case...

iMac, profire 2626, and a 1tb Glyph Firewire drive.

He as the externatl drive plugged into the fw800 and the profire in the fw400. Its very solid!!

He purchased his setup thru sweetwater.com.
__________________
White Macbook OSX 10.5.5 2.2Ghz Core 2 duo 4Gb RAM
PTMP 7.4.2
M-Audio Profire 2626 and Focusrite 26 I/O via lightpipe.
Focusrite Platinum Voicemaster Pro
KRK RP8's
1Tb Dual drive array.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2008, 05:57 PM
joeydego's Avatar
joeydego joeydego is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 317
Default Re: M Powered vs LE

What is the lowest buffer setting with that interface? My FW410 only goes down to 256, is there any way to get it lower?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2008, 11:07 PM
stoox stoox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 157
Default Re: M Powered vs LE

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeydego View Post
What is the lowest buffer setting with that interface? My FW410 only goes down to 256, is there any way to get it lower?
really?
what computer are you running on?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-17-2008, 06:21 AM
joeydego's Avatar
joeydego joeydego is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 317
Default Re: M Powered vs LE

Imac intel duo 2.0 with 3gb of ram.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-Powered 8 Essential -> M-Powered 8 Upgrade Snowblind Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 08-09-2011 08:05 AM
mac osx, m powered fast track, pro tools m powered singdance6 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 12-22-2010 10:24 AM
Please Advise are Pro Tools M-Powered Essential the same as LE M-Powered? jeremiah0812 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-19-2010 11:10 AM
PT M-Powered with FW400 bus powered audio drive? bruceup Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 07-06-2006 02:32 PM
bus powered interface + bus powered enclosure ? technician Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 03-20-2006 06:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com