Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Old 03-06-2018, 01:59 PM

Default Newbie seeks help regarding Avid c24

Hi, this is my first post here. I'm seriously considering to purchase the C24. I'm completely new to this, so the answer might be obvious, but I cannot seem to find it in the videos/google search I've done.

The C24 is 24 channels - however, it appears that one can only record on 16 of them.

My big question is what if I have a session with 32 tracks, how can I use the C24 to record on tracks 25-32?

How can I mix using the C24 when I have more than 24 tracks?

It seems I would only be able to work with the first 16 or 24 tracks... but I don't think the C24 would be so popular if one could only use the first 16-24 tracks... what am I missing here? (Please excuse my extreme ignorance here)
Old 03-06-2018, 04:43 PM

Default Re: Newbie seeks help regarding Avid c24

Welcome aboard! Here's the story(and you might want to read it thru twice as it will seem very complex for any newbie)

The C24 is a control surface(not a "mixing console"). This means it is a really fancy mouse. The 24 "channel strips" can be banked up/down so they can address as many tracks as your computer will handle.

The C24 has 16 mic preamps, but these are simply external mic preamps that you can(or may choose not to) use as your needs require,

The C24 is NOT an interface. What this means is; those 16 preamps do not magically show up in Pro Tools. They need to be routed thru an interface of some kind.